Reviews For 'i' before 'e'
Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 08/11/14 16:47
Chapter: Letters

That was funny. I can actually see that happening. I think it might have happened to me once.

Reviewer: canufeelthemagictonight
Date: 10/20/13 14:28
Chapter: Letters

Great story. Percy was totally in-character, Audrey was wonderful too, and now, thanks to you, I will NEVER forget the "i before e" rule again.

Author's Response: Oh no! Don;t apply it all the time as I have recently discovered (via QI) that the rule is no longer taught in schools because there are more exceptions to the rule - eeep! Ha ha - okay, thank you very much for the review. I did love writing this story and am so pleased with it's reception. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Ginny Weasley Potter
Date: 07/15/13 16:24
Chapter: Letters

Hey Carole!

I just read this a while ago, and I honestly have no idea why I hadn’t read it all this time. I am so glad that you put it in the list for recommended stories in the class, though, because it would have skipped my mind otherwise.

I think what sets this story apart from others, first of all, is the format and the style. I loved the letter-exchanges. I’ve never actually read anything like this, and it was a breath of fresh air, as well as a marvel. I have never seen a Percy/Audrey romance written this way either. I’ve read the more serious ones, but now that I’ve seen this, I think this fits best with canon.

I loved how the letters started out formal. Audrey was patient and courteous in the first two, and then, I could understand what she felt as she wrote the third one. Percy’s pompousness is so visible there, and I’m glad she told him off for ignoring her application. And then of course, was Percy’s reply. He seemed so indifferent to her frustration, I was amused. And then the letters just started getting less and less formal. Audrey seemed so annoyed, and Percy was all the more indifferent, and it got to the point where I was laughing out loud despite myself.

I liked how the characterisation was so spot on, despite the lack of dialogue or narrative. Expressing Percy and Audrey through their writing was no mean feat, I’m sure, and I must applaud you for this. I was amused, and at awe at how Percy was so very recognisable from the books ” pompous, smug and proud. And I was even fonder of how Audrey turned him down for it. She’s confident, intelligent and unafraid of letting Percy know that he’s wrong. They were well matched, and it’s difficult not to ship them at this point.

Then there’s the plot. The letters formed a progressive, wonderful plot, as they got angrier at each other, and then slowly more acquainted. At this point, we discover that Percy has been noticing Audrey at mealtimes, and vice-versa, which makes their union in the end all the more believable. I can also imagine how fond Audrey would be of Arthur if she had worked under him, and the fact that she enquired about Arthur made me like her even more.

The humour component in this story is fantastic. It was mostly the tone that got me laughing, and there was also the way that the insults escalated. This particular part got me laughing so hard, I had to take a breather before I could continue to the next one: I tried boiling my head, but it only made my hair redder and my freckles more pronounced. . Also, the name of Audrey’s book about Wendelin the Weird was unexpected (it fits, now that I look at it). Humour needs a lot of planning and talent, and you now are an all-rounder in my eyes. :)

All-in-all, great story! It lightened my mood considerably, was romantic and funny, and fit snugly into canon. What more could I ask for? I’m not surprised at all that this one a QSQ, because it is that amazing. Great job there, Carole!

Pooja

Author's Response: Wow, thank you. This is probably the story that I had the most fun ever writing (although Zacmac comes close) and it was certainly the one that took me the least amount of time. It has received a fabulous reception, though, so perhaps I should write everything on a whim and a prayer.

Basically this started off as a drabble for SBBC which I expanded for Minna because I knew she liked the letters style of it, and she's also a Percy fan. I very much liked putting them together as a couple, although it doesnt quite reconcile with my version of Audrey in my other stories, who is far more austere. I'm not so sure Audrey was 'unafraid to let Percy know' he was wrong, as just more convinced that she was right. After all, he is actually right and the Minister couldnt employ a secretary with SUCH bad spelling - ha ha.

Thank you, again, for the wonderful review. ~Carole

Reviewer: dreamsnape
Date: 02/24/13 16:33
Chapter: Letters

Very cute. Made me smile.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I had fun writing it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 01/26/13 0:40
Chapter: Letters

LoL. Another lovely humor piece. I'm glad you're still at it! You deserve that QSQ award! Good job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! The QSQ came as a huge surprise but a joyous one, (still grinning about it, actually) ~Carole~

Reviewer: HermioneJean1
Date: 01/14/13 4:45
Chapter: Letters

Do you like recieving reveiws? Cool story. My sister thinks I'm a bit wierd. You're cool. :)

Author's Response: I love recieving reveiws. (My computer has gone crazy with its red squiggly lines - lol) I have a neice who thinks I'm wierd, too. Thank you for the review :) ~Carole~

Reviewer: Sooty Salamander
Date: 12/11/12 0:33
Chapter: Letters

This is brilliant! It is so cute and bubbly, and the set out makes it all the more fun. This is one of the first times I've ever warmed to Percy!
Love it love it love it! I'm glad Percy found a snappy but playful girl :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I had a lot of fun writing this one and am pleased (if somewhat bemused) at the great reception it's received (i before e, :D). Audrey in my other stories isn't nearly as playful, sadly.

Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 11/25/12 1:59
Chapter: Letters

It is nice to see how the relationship between the two was able to quickly lead to a date. :) Hehe! I laughed. I had to. I caught the spelling mistake right away, but I realized just how foolish it sometimes is to try to have that be perfect. English always breaks the rules, which really annoys me. I find that I spell "field" and "weird" wrong sometimes, too, because English seems to throw the rule book out the window.

But that is not why I decided to leave a reveiw. (Laughs out loud). I had to leave one because this made me smile. Great job, Carole. :) I look forward to your next story. ~Nagini

Author's Response: I think Percy, having realised who A Cadwallader was, made a move quickly. He is a Gryffindor, after all.

Thanks for the review. This was a light bit of fluff, written on the hoof as a last minute entry in a comp which I then expanded. I'm rather astonished at th reception it's received but also very pleased.

~Carole~

Reviewer: lovelle
Date: 11/11/12 1:32
Chapter: Letters

really cool! Hope it was longer though especially the 'date' at the Copper Cauldron! Also loved the part about Ron and Hermione's relationship indirectly mentioned.

Cheers!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for leaving a review, and I'm pleased you enjoyed the story. Ha - yes, I couldn't resist a little mention of Ron and Hermione. ~Carole~

Reviewer: HumanHorcrux
Date: 11/02/12 22:32
Chapter: Letters

Oh boy, this was good. I love the way you presented the story in letters, and how they relied upon PS and PPS and PPPS's to say what they really wanted to. :P

You can see how Percy slowly lets down his guard, and for some unidentifiable reasion, Audrey seems to secretly like their exchanges. :P I love how Percy signed his last letter with "Love" instead of "Regards" or "Yours...".

Would she be in any way related to the Cadwallader of Hufflepuff that we hear about in HBP?

And one little nitpick- it is not "Reviewwwwwwwws", but "Reviews". Your spelling is atrocious! :P

Are you considering doing a follow up to this? Keep up the good work! :D :D :D

Author's Response: Thank you, very much for the lovely and giggle-worthy review. It has certainly made me smile.

I used the name Cadwallader because I always thought it sounded fairly ludicrous, and she must be related to that Hufflepuff Quidditch player ... just not sure if she's a sister or a cousin yet. :D. I do have in mind that she's either the same year as Percy or a year below.

A follow up ... hmmm. Not very sure about that. Thing is, the Audrey who appears in another of my stories (Swans) is rather ... uhm, well, she's horrid to her daughter Molly, and I'm finding it hard to reconcile this lighter version with the other one I've written. I might write 'Unrobed by a Passionate Flame' however - LOL.
,br> Thank you again for the reveiw ... er ... review. ~Carole~

Reviewer: mppfangirl1960
Date: 10/29/12 8:21
Chapter: Letters

This is a lovely one-shot! Nice idea of how Audrey and Percy got together.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review and I'm really glad you enjoyed the story. :) ~Carole~

Reviewer: blackbeauty7
Date: 10/24/12 9:40
Chapter: Letters

beautiful!

Author's Response: thank you! Glad you enjoyed it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: 1000timesingoldenink
Date: 10/07/12 18:25
Chapter: Letters

Hahahahaha. The spelling idea was creative and totally fits Percy!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad you enjoyed it. :) ~Carole~

Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 10/06/12 18:26
Chapter: Letters

I have read (and reviewed!) this before, however after noting you'd won a QSQ for it I thought I'd re-read it as I remembered enjoying it.

I never noticed this line before, but something about it really got me. I can't really explain it! 'PPS: I am reliably informed by my youngest brother that ‘friendship’ is a very good basis for ... more.' Maybe it's the unexpected Romione reference, but I love it! It's also nice to see a snippet of their relationship from Percy's point of view. I'm probably not making much sense, and for that I apologise. I guess what I'm trying to say is that I love that line, and this story.

Fenella x

Author's Response: Ha ha ha - I'm so glad you liked that line as no one else seems to have picked up on it and I rather liked the idea that Percy and Ron were back on good talking terms. Whether Percy actually asked for Ron's advice or Percy overheard him is open to interpretation, but it made me giggle.

Thank you so much for the extra review - much appreciated. ~Carole~

Reviewer: swati4891
Date: 08/31/12 13:13
Chapter: Letters

Quite funny. I really enjoyed the story.. not quite a side of Percy you expect.

Author's Response: I like to think he might have loosened up a little after the war, but not when it comes to spelling and grammar! Thanks for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: AlwaysSnily
Date: 08/22/12 23:58
Chapter: Letters

This is actually hilarious. I loved it. It's just like Percy to form a relationship over spelling mistakes. Maybe a sequel is in order?... :) Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review and I'm pleased you enjoyed the story. Not sure about a sequel, although writing 'Unrobed by a Passionate Flame' might be fun. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Harry Freakin Potter
Date: 08/06/12 6:27
Chapter: Letters

One of the few fan fics I've read recently that I have truely enjoyed reading. It was great!

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm sure you'll find some other fics you enjoy on this site ~Carole~

Reviewer: hufflepuffatheart
Date: 07/27/12 6:07
Chapter: Letters

I was grinning ear to ear this entire thing. So good. Gah!

Author's Response: Thank you. Glad it made you smile :) ~Carole~

Reviewer: GinnyPotter95
Date: 07/05/12 5:48
Chapter: Letters

Percy reading Marvel Miggs The Mad Muggle?! I don't believe it! Great Fic! It was amusing to read.~Nidhi

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I had fun writing it, so I'm pleased you enjoyed it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Snake_of_Gryffindor
Date: 06/12/12 8:44
Chapter: Letters

This was great! It's the first epistolary humour fic I've read in... er, eternity.

Also, I don't mean to sound heretic here, but was that partly inspired by Stroud? The "boiling your head" part and one or two of Percy's urbane replies?

Yours in readership,
Snake_of_Gryffindor

Author's Response: Um, I don't know what you mean by Stroud unless you mean the place in the UK, so no, it wasn't inspired by him/her or it. :). 'Boiling your head' is a phrase I think I picked up from Enid Blyton a few years ago, or something like that. Thank you very much for the review and I'm glad you liked the story. ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES