Reviews For Seven Simple Years
Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 11/16/12 21:45
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Transparent

Oh, another great chapter. :)

I must admit, I wonder if Ron would really have been so upset about Harry and Ginny. I've not reread HBP in ages, but I thought Ron had just given Harry a look of shock, followed by a look that said, "Well, if you must." That, to me, is more like acceptance, even if he is surprised, which he certainly would be. I do like the scene you've written, there are some great moments there, and the chess game is FAB! Just not sure he would have needed so much talking around over the H/G kiss. Really nice read though.

The second scene in this chapter is my favorite thing you've written so far. I've always believed something serious happened in Ron's head with Dumbledore's death, and it materialized there at the funeral with Hermione. Something in those weeks from him being poisoned to the funeral really grew him up. You wrote that transition beautifully, with the added bonus of having Ron thinking through that transition himself. "When did we grow up?" Loved that so much.

Their conversation on the platform... just GUSHHHHH. So good! I think it would have been something like this for sure, with the awkwardness, but also the realization that they both knew there was something more there. I think so too. Their apologies for the missed gifts expressed everything, and served as the apologies they really both ought to make for their insane behavior all year. Most heartbreaking moment: "Next year, eh?" So Ron to say that, and yet, we know next Christmas is going to SUUUUUUUUCK!!!

Wow, this is long and rambly, sorry. Loving this piece, is what I wanted to say. Also, I may have to skip your next installment, as I'm currently writing Hermione's arrival at the Burrow before they go get Harry. Haha! Great minds think alike, right? I don't want to be influenced by your take, as I know I will like it. So if you write that bit, I'll catch up with the next installment.

Thanks for another great read. Happy writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Ron's reaction to Harry and Ginny here is more him trying to work out if he is a brother or a best friend first. I don't think he had any serious objections, he just felt that he should have some serious objections. Plus the poor boy was in shock. Yeah, it's when he switches from liking Hermione and not knowing what to do to actually trying to show her how he feels. Maturing!Ron is a lot of fun because he is such a complex character. Awkward goodbyes, filled with unsaid things are kind of what these two do best so I'm glad you liked that bit. Although the present thing was a bit cruel of me... Long and rambly is fine, haha! That's cool, the next chapter is two parts and the first part is Hermione arriving at the Burrow but the second is the wedding. Maybe a bit of quick scrolling and you'll be okay? Also, can't wait for your take on that part - good luck with it! :)

Reviewer: wanderingflobberworm
Date: 11/16/12 16:43
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Transparent

Another fantastic chapter! This story always makes me laugh.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! It all gets a bit angsty from this point onwards, but I will try and keep the funnies coming. Glad you enjoyed it :)

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 11/16/12 3:28
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Transparent

"He was sure that if anything could charm Hermione it would be a book." -I laughed out loud at this- (yes, the full form, because LOL doesn't quite cover it). Ron, oh Ron.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Haha, I'm so glad I'm not the only one who takes the time to write the full form, along with an explanation as to why I've written it out in full form.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 11/15/12 17:38
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Transparent

That was a brilliant ending right there!! I love how you worked that book in there!!! Fabulous!!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) The book has to make an appearance somewhere and Fred and George make any scene they're in.

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 11/03/12 6:26
Chapter: How the Cookie Krumbles

Actually dying .... Hermione was helping Krum with the second task in exchange for him joining spew.

This has just caused me to stop breathing. OMG he's so thick!

I will admit to feeling some trepidation when you introduced Lavender. Warning for you: I love the girl and write her a lot, mainly because she always gets such a bad deal in fanfic from the whole 'won-won' incident. yes, she was a mush head, but he behaved badly as well. Sorry, strayed off the point, I liked your Lavender here because although she was quite clothes and hair obsessed (which I think is very very normal having been like that myself), she isn;t downright b*tchy about the other girls or disparaging about what they're wearing.

I also liked the detail about the Hufflepuff girl being in awe of Harry, and no one really understanding why - ha ha.

Great chapter ~Carole~

Author's Response: He's not so much thick, as suffering with a severe case of major denial. Well, I hope I do her justice in later chapters. As much as I love Ron, I'm under no impression that he was the good guy in that whole situation - quite the opposite in fact - so hopefully won-won-era Lavender won't be too bad. I really don't think she was a b!tch either - just a bit... vapid maybe. Haha, it's just not a Potter fic if there isn't a bit Harry Freaking Potter in there really. Anyway, thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy the rest :)

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 11/03/12 5:21
Chapter: Ron Notices That Hermione Is A Girl In 5, 4, 3. . .

Just catching up with your story now and what fun it is! (excuse me for the cheesy opening line.)

I'm enjoying this set of missing moments between Ron and Hermione. When I read the books I always thought they'd end up together (unlike the Harry/Hermione shippers) and this reads as very close to canon. I love your characterisation which I think you've nailed with both your protagonists as well as your more minor characters (Ginny and Harry.) In this chapter I particularly liked how similar Ron and Ginny are because I like to think of them as close.

Harking back to chapter one (should have left a review there, really) I very much liked the way Hermione and Ron escaped from the chess board and through the trap door. I have never really thought about them getting out, I suppose I assumed Dumbledore just arrived and made it all better, but Ron having the idea about the brooms ... fantastic! It really was a great touch.

I liked the detail about the pimple cream (shame she didn't send some to poor Eloise Midgen) and her awkwardness now she realsies she fancies Ron. One minor quibble: I don't think anyone else would have overheard Viktor asking Hermione to the Ball because that tyoe of news would have circulated five times around the castle on the first day, and not stayed secret for a month until the event. I know Harry and Ron are notoriously slow on the uptake, but I think even they'd have heard by then. - very measley quibble, though.

Another thing you might want to check through are some capitalisations: for example it should be Muggle and Dementor. - Sorry, I really am being miserly, but am very much enjoying the story,and must now get on with reading the rest of it.

~Carole~

Author's Response: Haha, pfft - the more cheese, the better! Thank you! I was always behind these two as well - I just can't see them with other people. Well, Dumbledore showing up tends to solve most things so that's very understandable. Eloise Midgen was beyond help unfortunately. That... that is a very good point. Um... maybe the girls thought if they pretended that they hadn't heard, then it wouldn't be true? Maybe? No, that's fine! I'm always missing them so thank you for pointing it out. Anyway, thanks again for reviewing!

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 11/03/12 0:31
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Through the Mist

This was a great great chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you're enjoying it so far :)

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 11/02/12 23:50
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Through the Mist

Be. Still. My. Heart.

Am still loving this. Favorite parts include Ron realizing thinking Hermione was born to be Prefect--that whole paragraph and the lines after are just spot on and brilliant. I also love Hermione's POV, especially when she learns of the poisoning.

Ron/Hermione is my favorite, but to be honest, it's not that easy to find stuff that has such good characterization. Which is why your take on these missing moments is such a gem, and why I keep coming back for more.

Great stuff--keep it coming!

Lori

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing again :) Ron thinking about Hermione in his little Ron way is always a joy so I'm glad you liked that. Yeah, it is pretty hard to find good R/Hr fics, something always feels off. That's actually why I started writing this - that evil voice in the back of my head saying "well, go on then, if you think you can do any better." Anyway, thanks again for all the kind words!

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 11/02/12 22:43
Chapter: Building Blocks, Foundations and a Troll

Oh my Prongs! This is one of the best thing that I have read in a long, long time. I am a huge Hermione/Ron shipper - have always been - and I don't know if I'd ever wanted somebody to write something like this, but now I know what has been missing in my life! Your characterisation and dialogue are both completely on point, and I cannot wait to read the remaining chapters.

My only issue is that there are a lot of technical errors strewn about the place, such as missing punctuations as well as incorrect use of dialogue punctuations, capitalisation errors, etc. If you like, I'd be more than willing to read through your chapters and help you clean them up :) I have given up beta-reading officially, but this is just too good. Keep writing!

~Natalie

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing again! Oh wow - thank you! That's really kind of you to say :) Haha - "the fics good, but you're ruining it!" Yeah, I know I can be a bit comma-shy and stuff. I am working on it. Um... yeah, that'd be great actually, thank you! If you don't mind obviously. Although I have no idea how to go about doing that on this site... But anyway, thanks for reviewing again :)

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 11/02/12 18:16
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Through the Mist

Tee hee! The breakup with lavender has always been one of my fav moments!!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! The break-up is (sort of) dealt with in the next chapter so stay tuned :)

Reviewer: kheldar
Date: 11/02/12 17:18
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Through the Mist

This is all really excellent, as usual, and is a superb missing moments look at one of my favorite parts of the whole series, so well done! Honestly, if I had to choose a favorite part of this chapter (which is not easy!) I would say the banter between Harry and Ron at the beginning - it's hilarious and wonderful!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) So you're saying this chapter got progressively worse? Haha, anyway, thank you! It's nice to know people are enjoying Harry, even though he only says about three things in this story :)

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 11/02/12 16:38
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Through the Mist

I know the story line, but the retelling of it is wonderful/

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you're still enjoying this!

Reviewer: kheldar
Date: 10/24/12 16:27
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Opaque

Wonderful, as always! I love how, through Mrs. Granger, you show that Hermione, who is normally always right, is really just as clueless as Ron is when it comes to their 'relationship' and how to handle it. Oh, if only Harry had locked them in a cupboard and refused to release them until they figured it out!

I really want a Zonko's stress doll, it sounds perfect.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing again :) Yeah, this and Quidditch are the only times Hermione is out of her depth and because she is so insecure and uncertain, she can't see what everyone can. Harry and his lack of cupboard locking in... It would have solved everything! Haha, they're available from all good magical joke shops!

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 10/24/12 10:10
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Opaque

Oh, I really like this chapter. I think you've again captured Ron and Hermione's voices extremely well, and Lavender too for that matter. I think Hermione really is the kind of girl who would confide in her mum if pushed to do so. It's not like she is besties with any of the other girls at school.

When Ginny showed up to give consolation to Hermione, I did pause at first. I'm not really a fan of fics where these two are bff's because honestly, Ginny is not that nice to Hermione in canon, especially during this time. We know Hermione was advising Ginny about Harry, and that they were good friends. But Ginny sometimes lacks empathy, so I was surprised you were going to use her in that role. But you made it work. I think it was just right that she just put a hand on Hermione's back and encouraged her to not give Ron the satisfaction of seeing how upset she was. Ginny, of course, would know a lot about this. All that to say, I think you did a really good job of letting Ginny be a friend and help, without taking her OOC.

Well done! I'm looking forward to the next installment of this!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing again :) I was a bit worried about Lavender here so I'm glad you think I've done all right there. Yeah, I can't see Hermione and Ginny being amazingly close, not at this point in the story at least. Here though, she's annoyed with Ron, Hermione is annoyed with Ron and I think they would bond a bit over that. Anyway, thanks for reviewing :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing again :) I was a bit worried about Lavender here so I'm glad you think I've done all right there. Yeah, I can't see Hermione and Ginny being amazingly close, not at this point in the story at least. Here though, she's annoyed with Ron, Hermione is annoyed with Ron and I think they would bond a bit over that. Anyway, thanks for reviewing :)

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 10/24/12 8:15
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Opaque

It's a good job we know what happens in the end. Otherwise, I would be heart broken.

Author's Response: Haha, yeah, it does spoil it somewhat. Anyway, thanks for reading and reviewing again :)

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 10/24/12 7:38
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Opaque

:-)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading :)

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 10/24/12 6:15
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Opaque

"Honestly," she continued. "He didn't know why you asked him out and he hatched a plan to find out. Of course, he's a boy so it didn't go quite to plan. In fact, he's not just a boy, it's Ron and from all I've heard, it was always doomed to fail spectacularly," ... Why haven't we seen more of Mrs.Granger? She rocks! And I love how Crookshanks bolted from the room. Also, "infernal ball of feathers"... :D

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad you like her - Mrs Granger will be back in a couple of chapters. Crookshanks and Pig are so underrated. I'd stick them in every chapter if I could. Thanks for reviewing again :)

Reviewer: kheldar
Date: 10/18/12 17:11
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Translucent

This is marvelous! Each section is wonderful, and as usual I think you're writing of Ron is spot-on - not many fanfic writers manage that. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you again for reviewing! There isn't a whole lot of Ron in the next chapter, I'm afraid but hopefully you'll still enjoy it :)

Reviewer: lucygirljb
Date: 10/18/12 6:13
Chapter: Building Blocks, Foundations and a Troll

Love your fic! Love it. I'm a die hard Ron/Hermione shipper and this is just... perfect. Your moments fit wonderfully into canon and you've nailed the characters. I've read a lot of Ron/Hermione fanfic - this is one of the best!
I must add... I loved getting to see Tonks and Lupin together as well! Keep writing! Very much looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm really happy that you're enjoying it so far! I couldn't resist NOT putting in a bit of Lupin and Tonks if I'm honest. The next chapter shouldn't be too far away :)

Reviewer: Rosty
Date: 10/18/12 1:22
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Translucent

Ahh such a good chapter, but so upsetting - i hate when they are upset with each other :( it would be really interesting if u did the scene where they are sitting together at dumbledore's funeral too. are you going to have another chapter for sixth year, or is this it? anyway, im loving the story please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing :) Tell me about it! I just want them to be nice to each other! There are a few more chapters from HBP to come. There won't be a scene with them just after the funeral, I'm afraid, but there is going to be one that happens during the train ride home - I hope that's okay :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES