Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Seven Simple Years

Name: hanname (Signed) · Date: 01/12/13 16:38 · For: The Final Battle -- Part Two
So. I liked all of it, some of it I loved. The argument they had in the Chamber of Secrets was brilliant. The things you potrayed as Hermione's insecurities and fears were wonderful, totally canon compatible and very original. I've never seen anyone else interpret Hermione like that. The cup emitting a vapor that turns into something felt a bit too familiar. I absolutely enjoyed how you wrote Ginny and what happened during the cease fire. The back sandwich argument was BRILLIANT !!!
The whole fic is very well balanced so that you don't explain things too much and don't fill in every single second and gap, but you still manage to tell so much that the gaps are easy to fill and one really feels that one has seen behind the scenes. And I haven't seen a single word that somehow undermines canon or hints that canon might not be totally true.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing the chapter again! Hermione's fears were just taken from her boggart and twisted a little. Yeah, the vapour thing I was never quite happy with seeing as it seems to happen in every version of this moment but I could't think of another way of showing what I wanted to show. I love Ginny so I'm glad you think I did her justice. Bacon is very dear to Ron after all. And thank you :) I really wanted these moments to fit perfectly with canon so it's great that you think they do! Thanks for reviewing again :)


Name: hanname (Signed) · Date: 01/11/13 7:22 · For: The Final Battle -- Part Two
Liked some of it a lot, some not as much. Too overwhelmed to analyze.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! Well, I'm glad you liked some of it, but I'm sorry about the parts you didn't. Hopefully the last chapter will be better :)


Name: Dad (Signed) · Date: 01/10/13 8:01 · For: The Final Battle -- Part Two
Cheers and tears. I just love these two.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing again! It's always a rollercoaster when they are around :)


Name: PeppermintToads (Signed) · Date: 01/09/13 20:25 · For: The Final Battle -- Part Two
The ending of this was adorable, I loved the bacon sandwich argument. I am soooooo excited for the end!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! Bacon sandwiches are very important to Ron. Very, very important. Argh, now I feel like it's going to be a proper anti-climax! Even so, it'll probably be submitted tonight :)


Name: kheldar (Signed) · Date: 01/09/13 18:27 · For: The Final Battle -- Part Two
Ok, calling this excellent might be the understatement of the millennium. I've said it before, and I'll say it again - if you don't write the missing moments for the entirety of the Harry Potter Saga, it must be some kind of crime!

"Cease Fire" was gripping and soul-crushing and utterly sad. The pain that Ron, Hermione, Ginny, and the rest of the Weasleys were feeling was palpable to me as the reader, and combined with that was a looming sense of dread because I knew where Harry was and they didn't...yet. I like how you got Ginny outside, particularly, I had always wondered what she was doing out there.

For as sad as "Cease Fire" was, and I won't deny that I shed a tear, "A the Ravenclaw Table" filled me with such joy! Yes, there was still sadness, like the litany of those who had died against those who hadn't, and Ginny refusing to break down in front of her brothers, but doing so as soon as they were gone. The moment between Ron and Mr. Weasley was a real tear-jerker too. But Ron and Hermione! YES! It was perfect. Just...perfect. Leave it to Harry to bollocks it up, right?

Very very well done indeed, HalfASlug! Can't wait for the epilogue, and LITERALLY ALL FUTURE HP FANFICS YOU WILL WRITE. That wasn't coming on too strong, was it?

Cheers!
-kheldar

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing as ever! Casually going to point out there has only been 13 complete years of this millennium but the compliment is still very much appreciated :). Haha, if I could then I probably would! Cease Fire took forever to get right so it's nice to hear that it was worth it. It always bugged me too. And how did McGonagall get there first? Life's great mysteries. Yeah, it's weird writing the happy moment we've all been waiting for right after so many people died. It was never going to be a wholly happy moment but it's still them two getting together :). Yep, Captain Cockblock at his best. And thank you for using the titles! No one ever does. Thank you! Epilogue shouldn't be too far away. And no. Enthusiasm is always appreciated and I just hope I don't disappoint :)


Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 01/09/13 18:02 · For: The Final Battle -- Part Two
I've been alternating between tears, laughter, and awwwwwww! Fantastic!!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! Haha, that sounds painful. I'm glad you enjoyed this despite the mood swings :)


Name: Rosty (Signed) · Date: 01/09/13 17:53 · For: The Final Battle -- Part Two
Wow this was truly fantastic. Although you didn't have "the kiss" you certainly made up for it! And honestly everything about this is exactly how I would have pictured it to happen. Just please tell me this isn't the last chapter?

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! Yay for not letting you down, haha! It isn't! There is one more, epilogue-ish chapter left. Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed it so far :)


Name: ronhermione15 (Signed) · Date: 01/09/13 16:09 · For: The Final Battle -- Part Two
Great job with this story! I loved every minute of it! Hope to see more stories in the future! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad you liked it! I hope you will too :).


Name: Ruchira_M (Signed) · Date: 01/09/13 7:59 · For: The Final Battle -- Part Two
Brilliant, every part of it brilliant. I always wanted to know what was happening in the Great Hall while Harry was in the forest, plus the confession part was so good and in-character, done in a way that it could only be Ron and Hermione and not just any love story with any two people. The disappointing bit is the seven years are over now. :(

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! So did I and how Ginny ended up outside so I ended up writing it. And thank you! I really wanted it to be very them. Not quite! There is one more chapter that's sort of an epilogue :)


Name: Mom2Rose (Signed) · Date: 01/08/13 11:50 · For: Twelve Practically Fail-Safe Ways to Charm Hermione
You actually had me feeling Hermione and her mom's sadness and pain. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you think so :)


Name: tonks58 (Signed) · Date: 01/07/13 18:44 · For: The Final Battle -- Part One
The Lavender part was a nice touch. Congrats!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you liked a bit of jealous!Hermione.


Name: kheldar (Signed) · Date: 01/07/13 13:07 · For: The Final Battle -- Part One
How do I love this, let me count the ways!

Ok, first of all, the "second in command" "now that our only hope just walked out, we sort of expected you two to take charge" bit was hilarious. And perfectly fitting, really, because I imagine that the DA and everyone on the periphery of what those three were doing would view Ron and Hermione as, if not Harry's equals, then at the very least his more than capable lieutenants (a position of honor, I should think, quite unlike sidekicks).

Hooray for Ron finally getting one over on Hermione! That was such a brilliant turn-of-the-tables, and I loved the way you had Ron's "I'm thinking of an extremely clever plan and am at least 10 steps ahead" behavior mimic's Hermione's, and her recognition that that must have been what Harry and Ron normally felt like. Genius! I always knew Ron had it in him - anyone as good at chess as he is has to be smart. His "Chess Face" is as a harbinger of doom for his enemies.

Finally, I happened to be alone and in a dark room when I read this (I'm not as lame as that makes me sound, I promise), and the whispering voices in the Chamber seriously creeped me out. So thanks for that.

All and all, extremely well done! Can't wait for The Final Battle Part 2, but I hope that's not the end of this just yet!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing again! I just needed one last Fred and George moment in my life. Yes! I completely agree. To everyone else Ron and Hermione probably had some mystique about them because they were Harry's best friends. I'm really glad that you liked that bit! It was such fun to write. It was Ron's moment of glory after all and it was about time Hermione learnt how it felt to be on the other side of a genius plan. Haha, I'll believe you. I'm sorry. I'll give a warning next time or something perhaps. Thank you! Part 2 shouldn't be too far away. After that there is only one, epilogue-y type chapter left, I'm afraid. Hope they don't disappoint!


Name: WeasleyMom (Signed) · Date: 01/05/13 15:03 · For: Road to Redemption
Just thought I'd let you know I'm still enjoying this. :) I can't help but notice that on many of the missing moments we have both written, we have startlingly similar takes on it. Great minds think alike, huh? Looking forward to the next installment!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! That's good to hear :) Haha, yeah, I remember seeing Another Horcrux Down not long after I'd finished this chapter and wondering why I even bothered. It shouldn't be too far away :)


Name: Rosty (Signed) · Date: 01/05/13 12:17 · For: The Final Battle -- Part One
yay! sooo good. i can't wait for the next chapter! and the kiss... :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! Glad you enjoyed it! Next chapter shouldn't be too far away. Technically The Kiss is a missing moment so it won't appear in this story. That's not to say that there isn't any kisses though :)


Name: Ruchira_M (Signed) · Date: 01/05/13 10:21 · For: The Final Battle -- Part One
"Excuse me? Seconds in command?" called Fred from the back of the room.
...
"Well, now that our only hope just walked out, we sort of expected you two to take charge," shrugged Fred.

I loved this part. Also, how the tables turn! Loved Ron's chess-face thinking.

The part with Snape was brilliant.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I couldn't resist having one last Fred and George moment before - well... that. This was Ron's big moment so I'm glad you think I did it justice. Haha, Snape just makes everything better, doesn't he? Anyway, glad you enjoyed this chapter :)


Name: Dad (Signed) · Date: 01/05/13 8:42 · For: The Final Battle -- Part One
A lot of tension but there is always that "feel good" factor from the way they interact. This story will not end with a kiss because that will only be the beginning.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I really tried to make this like an adventure for the two of them. That's beautiful :)


Name: hanname (Signed) · Date: 01/05/13 5:27 · For: Road to Redemption
WOW! Masterful. I just read through all the chapters and LOVED it. I really am in awe of how you get Ron so perfectly. Your take on Hermione is also brilliant. What struck me was how you really know your canon, I never would have remembered that when Ron shows up alone at Shell Cottage that Bill and Fleur would have to first make sure its him.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading all of this! I'm really glad that you liked my characterisation of them both. Haha, well, that's what you get when you read these books way too many times - you know their lives better than you know your own :)


Name: kheldar (Signed) · Date: 01/01/13 20:06 · For: Road to Redemption
What a fantastic New Year's gift! You know, sometimes missing moments stories are just fun ways to imagine what happened in the vast amount of time off-page in the Books, but I believe your stories, particularly this one, go beyond that. I feel like I actually gain a much deeper understanding of these characters and their relationships.

I stand in awe of your insights into Ron's and Hermione's characters.

I'm a fan of your recovery trajectory for Hermione's following her torture at Bellatrix's hands. She's clearly shaken and scarred by it, but she's not rendered completely incapacitated by it. And you clearly made the right choice by having Luna point out Hermione's "Thinking of Ron" face - those two paired up is always a win.

Finally, totally in love with your origins of names: Fred and George after Fabian and Gideon, Hugo coming from what Hermione's would have been, etc.

Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing again! Haha, sorry about the lack of bow on the present. Thank you so much for saying that. I've spent too much time thinking about all things Potter since I was 7 so it's nice to to know it's been worth it, haha. Yeah, in the books she seems to keep herself together afterwards so I sort of went with that because she is a strong person. Hermione V Luna is always amazing in the books. I'm glad you enjoyed this one :)


Name: WrenWinterSong (Signed) · Date: 01/01/13 18:08 · For: Road to Redemption
I think this is my favorite chapter yet. You've captured Ron's desperation at Malfoy Manor perfectly without even writing about those specific events, which was wonderfully refreshing. The conversation with Luna basically summed up the last fourteen chapters, and I loved your take on her. Luna is one of those characters I personally don't understand (and avoid writing about at all costs) but this scene is so... Luna. I also loved the ending conversation about baby names. I've never been fully comfortable with the name 'Hugo' and always wondered where in the world that name came from, but you're explanation made perfect sense. Keep up the wonderful work and I looked forward to the rest of the story!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you liked this! The Malfoy Manor bit has been written so many times so it's great that you think this version was refreshing. Thank you! Luna is hard to write, but she is one of my favourite characters. Hugo really did come from nowhere, didn't it? I mean - where? Thank you! Hopefully it shouldn't be too far away :)


Name: Dad (Signed) · Date: 01/01/13 12:10 · For: Road to Redemption
Super chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing again :)


You must login (register) to review.