Reviews For Seven Simple Years
Reviewer: Dad
Date: 12/28/12 7:27
Chapter: Broken

That made me so happy.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I'm glad you liked it :)

Reviewer: kheldar
Date: 12/26/12 14:28
Chapter: Broken

What a great Christmas present this was, HalfASlug! Granted, it was a bit of a downer, but we know it ends up happy so it's not hard to enjoy some wallowing.

I was particularly struck by Hermione's observations about Harry's brokenness. The saga is Harry's story, so we get everything from his perspective, but sometimes it takes an outside view to really crystallize a point - that point being that Harry is really at an emotional rock-bottom after Christmas of '97, but Hermione doesn't have the emotional strength to do anything more than not leave him.

Have a happy Boxing Day!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing as ever :) Merry Christmas (boxing day, new years... whatever day you read this) to you too! Yeah, angst isn't the most festive thing but I'm just working with what JKR gave me. The first time I read DH I remember feeling completely helpless at that part because without his wand, his mentor and one of his best friends, how was Harry meant to do this? So I just gave all that to Hermione really. Anyway, thanks for reading again :)

Reviewer: WrenWinterSong
Date: 12/25/12 2:20
Chapter: Broken

This chapter made me tear up at the end. You're characterization of Ron and Hermione is absolute perfection and you write their relationship so believable and realistic. Are you sure your not JKR?

All jokes aside, I felt I should probably leave a review since I added this story to my favorites months ago. I really have nothing but compliments to give. I've read all your other stories and enjoyed them all, but this is definitely my favorite story.

I've always wanted to read a well-written fanfiction about all the missing Ron/Hermione moments, and my search as finally come to an end. I am really looking forward to reading the rest of this and yell in excitement every time I see there's a new chapter here. I think the best part about your story is that it's not the over-used moments that people always write fics about. Instead, you've created your own moments and really expanded on what JKR originally wrote. They fit so well with the actual story and really show the behind-the-scenes progression of their relationship. As far as I am concerned, this is canon. Keep up the amazing work and I can't wait to see what you come up with next!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) *checks name badge* I'm pretty sure I'm not her... Thank you so much. It's incredible to hear that people are enjoying this. There are so many missing moments fics so it's great that you think this one stands out. I really did try to avoid the over-done moments as much as possible, but a few of them do show up (see the next chapter...).

Reviewer: Rosty
Date: 12/24/12 14:37
Chapter: Broken

aahhhhh this is so good! I was getting worried when you didn't update! Are you going to end it exactly when the book ends, or maybe go a little bit past it? Also, I'm so glad you are covering their time in the forest - that was totally glossed over in the books.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Sorry about the delays between updates - life got a bit lifey. This story isn't going to abandoned, don't worry. The last chapter will be called 'Nineteen Minutes Later' so that should give you some idea. Haha, well, to be fair, JKR probably wanted to get the huge battle bit. Anyway, glad you're enjoying this so far :)

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 12/24/12 10:23
Chapter: Broken

Cute update.Merry Christmas.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! Merry Christmas to you too :)

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 11/27/12 15:23
Chapter: Road to Ruin

On reflection, I think the only one thicker in the relationship stakes (excluding Harry and me) is Hermione. Where are her female wiles?

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. Well, she is using them all on saving the world and even the strongest of us can struggle to see what is right in front of us :)

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 11/27/12 5:32
Chapter: Road to Ruin

For being two such bright, feisty young girls, I always though Ginny and Hermione were rather silly in thier reaction to Fleur. Although, that makes them more real and endearing as characters. You got Ron really well in this chapter, and Fleur was wonderful- it's great how she knew the nickname- but I've always wanted to read Bill's reaction. Do you think you'll do that next chapter? Or if you want to jump events you could include Bill's reaction in flashback mode? Pretty please?

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Yeah, but she was beautiful and the boys they liked had both noticed. Some kind of primal instinct kicks in in that situation. I was worried about Fleur so I'm glad you think I did her justice. Bill does show up in a couple of chapters time, but his reaction to this isn't shown. It is something I'd like to write as a separate story eventually though.

Reviewer: heliopath
Date: 11/25/12 14:09
Chapter: Twelve Practically Fail-Safe Ways to Charm Hermione

I love this story. Its so close to the actual story. Easily one of my favourite fanfictions. And its so refreshing for me to read it in moments of respite in my really long and exhausting exams. Anxiously looking forward to your next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Good luck with your exams! Nice reviews are great for breaking up time spent studying as well, so thank you!

Reviewer: PeppermintToads
Date: 11/23/12 13:08
Chapter: Twelve Practically Fail-Safe Ways to Charm Hermione

Ooh, cliff-hanger! I went and scrolled through a few of the previous chapters before reading this one to refresh my memory, and I can't believe how much they've grown up. You let this happen just like J.K. Rowling does--gradually, so that we barely notice. Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Not too much of a cliffie, seeing as we all know how it ends! Thank you! It was hard to remember that 11 year old Ron was completely different to 15 year old Ron.

Reviewer: anki91
Date: 11/21/12 1:21
Chapter: Twelve Practically Fail-Safe Ways to Charm Hermione

You should somehow just publish this thing. ^_^

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! Haha, I'm sure I could take on JKR's legal team if I tried really hard...

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 11/20/12 19:05
Chapter: Twelve Practically Fail-Safe Ways to Charm Hermione

Brilliant!!!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 11/20/12 11:08
Chapter: Twelve Practically Fail-Safe Ways to Charm Hermione

I liked the way you handled how Hermione wiped her patents memories.

Author's Response: Thanks! That part has been written so many times, so I'm glad that you liked my version :)

Reviewer: Riddle Magnus
Date: 11/20/12 9:28
Chapter: Twelve Practically Fail-Safe Ways to Charm Hermione

Ron's last conversation with Fred. Now I'm depressed :(

But awesome story though :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Yeah, I wanted to give the brothers a chance to say goodbye, even if it was months before Fred dies. Glad you're enjoying the story though!

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 11/20/12 6:54
Chapter: Twelve Practically Fail-Safe Ways to Charm Hermione

This is one of your best chapters till date- brilliant. I was sobbing through the first part and the scene between Fred and George would have got me sobbing again if that "Asymmetrical Wonder" line didn't turn up.

Author's Response: Thank you! Ear humour from the twins does tend to cure tears :)

Reviewer: kheldar
Date: 11/19/12 17:03
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Transparent

Gah! At the risk of gushing like a fanboy, I'm just love everything of yours that I've read, and this story most of all. I think it's probably one of the best missing-moments stories out there - I'm seriously considering starting a petition to get you to write missing moments for the whole saga. You didn't have anything else to do, right?

Love the chess match, by the way - particularly the thought of Ron ambushing Hermione by letting her think that she would finally win in the midst of his utter distraction, and still pulling out a win at the last minute.

And now the debate - do I read the rest of this on FF.net, or do I draw out the enjoyment by reading it as it comes here on MNFF? The agony of choice!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing again! In case you hadn't already noticed, compliments tend to make me awkward and I'm kind of on the floor dribbling right now. Take this as a massive thank you. If you are willing to pay me and this doesn't break any laws, then yeah, sure! Well, if you can resist, then remaining chapters on FF.net are riddling with even more mistakes (I think was allergic to commas when I first wrote it) than this version and will be tidied up a bit for when they are put here. But it is your choice. Either way, they end up together *SPOILER ALERT*

Reviewer: anki91
Date: 11/19/12 4:11
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Transparent

Wow! Its really amazing the way you've linked the years together! Its almost as though this was what was going through JKR's head while writing the books. Its brilliant!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you're enjoying it so far.

Reviewer: Laura22
Date: 11/17/12 18:40
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Transparent

It's so rare finding fanfiction that truly captures the original author's style - word choice and voice especially - and stays true to the characters. You do both so well! I love all your submissions, but this series especially. Definitely the best missing scenes I've found of Ron and Hermione!! Thank you for submitting, I look forward to your next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) I actually tried to make it similar to JKR's style so that the moments could be slipped into the books so thank you very much for saying that you think it's similar. And thank you for the rest of the kind words :)

Reviewer: tonks58
Date: 11/17/12 17:53
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Transparent

Quite frankly this one of the best missing moments fan fiction I have ever read, if not the best. Great work!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Wow. That means a lot so thank you so much :)

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 11/17/12 10:49
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Transparent

It is so good that they are getting there. Lovely story.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! Yes, but they still have to get through the locket and everything else yet...

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 11/16/12 21:45
Chapter: Shades of Lavender: Transparent

Oh, another great chapter. :)

I must admit, I wonder if Ron would really have been so upset about Harry and Ginny. I've not reread HBP in ages, but I thought Ron had just given Harry a look of shock, followed by a look that said, "Well, if you must." That, to me, is more like acceptance, even if he is surprised, which he certainly would be. I do like the scene you've written, there are some great moments there, and the chess game is FAB! Just not sure he would have needed so much talking around over the H/G kiss. Really nice read though.

The second scene in this chapter is my favorite thing you've written so far. I've always believed something serious happened in Ron's head with Dumbledore's death, and it materialized there at the funeral with Hermione. Something in those weeks from him being poisoned to the funeral really grew him up. You wrote that transition beautifully, with the added bonus of having Ron thinking through that transition himself. "When did we grow up?" Loved that so much.

Their conversation on the platform... just GUSHHHHH. So good! I think it would have been something like this for sure, with the awkwardness, but also the realization that they both knew there was something more there. I think so too. Their apologies for the missed gifts expressed everything, and served as the apologies they really both ought to make for their insane behavior all year. Most heartbreaking moment: "Next year, eh?" So Ron to say that, and yet, we know next Christmas is going to SUUUUUUUUCK!!!

Wow, this is long and rambly, sorry. Loving this piece, is what I wanted to say. Also, I may have to skip your next installment, as I'm currently writing Hermione's arrival at the Burrow before they go get Harry. Haha! Great minds think alike, right? I don't want to be influenced by your take, as I know I will like it. So if you write that bit, I'll catch up with the next installment.

Thanks for another great read. Happy writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Ron's reaction to Harry and Ginny here is more him trying to work out if he is a brother or a best friend first. I don't think he had any serious objections, he just felt that he should have some serious objections. Plus the poor boy was in shock. Yeah, it's when he switches from liking Hermione and not knowing what to do to actually trying to show her how he feels. Maturing!Ron is a lot of fun because he is such a complex character. Awkward goodbyes, filled with unsaid things are kind of what these two do best so I'm glad you liked that bit. Although the present thing was a bit cruel of me... Long and rambly is fine, haha! That's cool, the next chapter is two parts and the first part is Hermione arriving at the Burrow but the second is the wedding. Maybe a bit of quick scrolling and you'll be okay? Also, can't wait for your take on that part - good luck with it! :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Dark Enough To See The Stars by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Scorpius is looking for answers in the constellation that bears his name. He...
The Ties That Bind by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
"Life is short, but this time it was biggerThan the strength he had to get up...
Pearls Mean Tears by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
Now and then I think of all the times you screwed me overBut had me believing...
FEATURED
Turn to Stone by iLuna17 1st-2nd Years
One summer's night in Hogwarts, two statues are given one night to be human.
Ashes of the Past by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Viktor carries the memory of Grindelwald's path of destruction, passed down...
What War Takes by WeasleyMom 6th-7th Years
War takes things and keeps on taking them, and the things it takes don't come...
The Observer Effect by Squibstress 6th-7th Years
Minerva is a watcher. Mostly, she watches Severus. She sees through a glass...
CATEGORIES