Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Locket

Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 09/25/15 17:13 · For: Locket
I liked this more than I usually like stories of this type. I normally don't care for stories that have a monologue or someone's thoughts and that's all it has. But, you have given a different feel to this story. I can follow what Ron is saying in his head. And, it's another one of those lost moments that JKR never really filled in for us. All we know is that Ron was trying to escape snatchers and I think that's how he ended up in a pub--didn't he?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. All we know is what Ron tells Harry, and I reread that several times before writing this. I've written three stories from inside Ron's head (four if you count his chapter of Spontaneity). It's a lot easier to get inside than Luna's!


Name: Ribe featherquill (Signed) · Date: 03/09/13 15:58 · For: Locket
Better later than never. I'm reading my way through your archive now, and taking it in chronology.

Likes the internal dialogue, it's maybe a bit short, but touches the same things as the locket shows, and the snatchers comes unto the scene. I had myself imagined that different, maybe happening on a street or in a dark alley, but Ron acts very much like Ron here. I guess he will continue his internal dialog for a long time.

As another reviewer mentioned it would be very interesting to se the scene where he comes to Bill from Bills point of view.

Thanks for your stories.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I find Ron’s self doubting internal dialogue very east to write, and it was apparent to me why Ron left. Wistman’s Wood is a real West Country location, and it is fairly close to “Ottery St Catchpole”.
I’ll think again about a story from Bill’s perspective.
-N-


Name: kheldar (Signed) · Date: 07/19/12 18:04 · For: Locket
I know I'm a bit late on this, but I love it! I agree with you, this is really when Ron starts to grow up - he shows so much more maturity after he returns to Harry and Hermione (and particularly after he destroys the locket) so there was clearly some missing moment of growth for him. Thanks for not making Ron whiny, he's really a good guy with his big heart in the right place, he just was the last of the three of them to grow up!

Author's Response: It's never too late to leave a review, thanks.
Ron does, occasionally, whinge and complain. At least he's man enough to try to put things write after he's made a mistake. If something is his fault, he'll admit it, unlike a certain whining Slytherin.
He was the last to grow up, but he did a lot of growing up in DH.
-N-


Name: turquoiseturkeyz (Signed) · Date: 07/13/12 2:16 · For: Locket
Fine internal monologe, I think mabey Ron's conversation with himself might have taken more time but I would say your judgement is no doubt better than mine. Did picture a more pathetic and public tussle with the snatchers than this but it works with how Ron often insults harshly at the drop of a hat. Have you thought of continuing his expedition with out Harry and Hermione?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Ron’s conversation was, initially, a bit longer but I cut it because I thought that the longer version was a rambling whinge, and this is more punchy. I could be wrong. I’ve thought about writing about his time at shell cottage, too. If I do, it won’t be for some time as I have way too many chaptered stories on the go. I must finish something.
-N-


Name: Charles Sinclair (Signed) · Date: 07/03/12 2:26 · For: Locket
Wow, you always do such a good job of picking up the characters ethos. I always find your stories lively and witty.

Descriptions of snatchers and internal tension there was wonderful.

Author's Response: Thank you.
I really tried to get inside Ron's head for this one, because this was, I think, the moment he started to grow up.
-N-


Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 06/29/12 15:49 · For: Locket
Fantastic as always!

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-


Name: Dad (Signed) · Date: 06/29/12 14:13 · For: Locket
Fine as it is.

Author's Response: Thanks. -N-


Name: Ruchira_M (Signed) · Date: 06/29/12 14:11 · For: Locket
Nice work.

Author's Response: Thanks. -N-


Name: golden_trio (Signed) · Date: 06/29/12 2:07 · For: Locket
Very good! Poor Ronald. I like how this showcased his love for Hermione clearly.

Looking forward to more of any story! :)
- Katie

Author's Response: Katie, I’ll be updating H&P very soon. -N-


Name: Seedy (Signed) · Date: 06/28/12 23:37 · For: Locket
Which story will you be working on after this one?

Author's Response: Currently Hunters & Prey, then Strangers. -N-


Name: sejackson91 (Signed) · Date: 06/28/12 22:54 · For: Locket
That was great! I loved Ron's internal dialogue before the snatchers showed up. I thought you did a great job playing to his insecurities and letting him really think through his confusing emotions. I think it'd be great if you did one with Bill's POV of when Ron shows up at shell cottage.

Author's Response: Thank you. I’m never sure how well this sort of internal dialogue narrative works, so I’m glad you liked it. Interesting idea, too, I’ll think about it. -N-


Name: Nagini Riddle (Signed) · Date: 06/28/12 22:27 · For: Locket
No it's beautiful! I love the internal battle Ron had with himself! It was pure genius! :) great job. I don't think anything needs to change.

Author's Response: Thank you. Ron’s internal struggle was where this story started. -N-


You must login (register) to review.