Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 06/12/14 13:13
Chapter: Boggarts

Excellent! I loved this story. I'm the oldest in my family so I'm used to running in to "save" the others. It was nice to experience another sibling's point of view. Louis was very brave and well deserving of being a Gryffindor.

Author's Response: Ah, I was the youngest so felt continually overlooked, but I suspect middle children have it worse. Thank you. ~Carole

Reviewer: srhittson
Date: 09/13/13 9:52
Chapter: Boggarts

Love the story. So cute

Author's Response: Thank you. ~Carole

Reviewer: srhittson
Date: 09/13/13 9:50
Chapter: Boggarts

Love the story. So cute

Author's Response: Thank you very much ~Carole~

Reviewer: BrokenPromise
Date: 04/05/13 16:00
Chapter: Boggarts

So, as usual, I cannot but love this story. I think Louis and Laura are the sweetest couple, and I like your Molly a lot “ hooray for Hufflepuff Next Gens! However, what really affected me the most was my sympathy with the characters.

Like Louis, I found the Boggart really puzzling at first. I found it interesting that both he and Molly were afraid of their own family and their reputation, and it makes me wonder what the others feel about it. I wasn’t too keen on Victoire being Head Girl, as it felt a little bit too perfect, but I did like her characterisation pertaining to Teddy and felt that her girly gossipy-ness made up for it. It also raised questions in my mind about whether she gained the position by merit or my name, but a Weasley with a Triwizard Champion for a mother would almost undoubtedly be a talented witch (or wizard).

The way Louis conquered his Boggart made me feel quite sorry for him. Although I somewhat doubt that Molly or Arthur would treat their grandchildren differently, his position as eldest grandson would’ve been overlooked by everyone else because of his ‘younger-by-two-weeks cousin’. I really think that this was quite an eye-opener for me on the legacy that the Next-Gen kids would be faced with. It had never really occurred to me that it would be so expected of them to be in Gryffindor. I felt quite sad about how Molly always felt that her parents were more than disappointed and that she had to escape. I always liked to think that the Potter/Weasley clan would be more accepting (hence in my head-canon many of them are not Gryffindors). I especially hated the way he felt overshadowed by James because he’s a Potter. Louis must also feel very overshadowed just by his own siblings: Victoire as Head Girl, Dominique on the Gryffindor Quidditch team. I felt that your insertion of various Harry events was very effective in adding to this insecurity of inadequacy. However, the support that the family give to each other is really touching, because even if he doesn’t want them, he knows they’ll always be there for him when he does.

As for the other characters, of course, I hated Finch. He is a bully and I wasn’t really sure why he and his cronies were in Gryffindor. And what is the ‘Caron’ on Laura? I guess that she’s related to Stuart Ackerley, but I would love to hear more. I think she’s really sweet, and I love how she is what made him not nothing, because he is an actual person to her, and not just his name or family. And then you made Professor Goldstein very established, both as a teacher, a Ravenclaw, and a minor character of the Trio Era “ I loved how you incorporated all of this into the story (and I also loved the idea of him wearing a turban…). All of the Boggarts were also quite telling of the characters, however minor.

So here’s my review. I just want to finish by saying thank you for such a great story and for opening my eyes to the plight of the Next-Gen Weasleys.

Author's Response: Hello ...Thank you so much for the review for my Louis story. This is very much part of the build up to my canon for Louis which fits into other stories, and may or may not be written as a full fledged fic one day :). I did debate with having Victoire as Head Girl, but really, I couldn't think of a reason not to have her there (especially as her Dad had been head boy) and it added to the pressure Louis felt being her brother. Not sure if you;ve read any of my other NG stories, but Louis and James are actually very close, having been brought up together and have a lot of fun together. I see James as being quite loud, and thus he overshadows Louis, not least because he's a Potter.

Regarding them all in Gryffindor, really that came about because in another story of mine (Swans) Molly was very much the outsider as all the others were Sorted into Gryffindor. These things generally run in families unless there's a strong reason (like Sirius), but again, I couldn't see why the Weasley's and Potters wouldn't be Gryffindors. Also, from a story POV, it adds very much to the pressure any of them feel to be Sorted, or to live up to their names, and increases Molly's 'difference'. (I love Molly, btw - hahahaha)

My 'caron' on Laura was basically, I'm ashamed to admit it, it was a canon name. But I do think about the character, and if I do get around to writing my Louis chaptered fic, then there's a strong chance she'll be in it. I don't see them being together for the rest of their lives, but she's given him a little confidence to be Louis Weasley, and he's given her the confidence in her abilities.

Thank you once again for the wonderful review! ~Carole~

Reviewer: dmbw7052
Date: 12/22/12 3:48
Chapter: Boggarts

this was a really good story with a lot of depth and emotion.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad you liked it because it was a story I've had in my head for some time but sometimes they don't translate well on the page. ~Carole~

Reviewer: karin
Date: 11/14/12 23:04
Chapter: Boggarts

Really good characterization! I loved how Louis couldn't see his boggart - and what it turned out to be!

I like the idea that he could decide NOT to fight Finch but still think of himself as courageous. He didn't need to fight to prove anything- until he fought for Laura?? - i'm not sure if that is her name- when she was being teased. I also loved how he was able to figure a way to fight Finch without his wand and then to fight off the boggart.

Excellent story!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. Yes, her name was Laura Ackerley, but Finch (Flinch) called her by her surname all the time. Glad you enjoyed the story ~Carole~

Reviewer: majestic_ginny
Date: 11/14/12 4:10
Chapter: Boggarts

Ooh, Carole, this was fantastic! This is the first time I've read a Louis-centric story, and your portrayal of him has me wanting for more. I’ll definitely be trolling your author page in case you decide to write another one. =)

Making Louis have an abstract Boggart was a very interesting premise. Most Boggart stories I've read include the characters having a distinct, physical Boggart that they can see and attack, but the idea of Louis fearing something that he can’t even understand had me very intrigued. You had me gripped, and though I had a vague idea of what his Boggart could be, I couldn't rest till I found out.

Your Louis was an engaging character: slightly withdrawn and yet strong enough to tackle his own fears. I was glad that he wasn't immensely popular and had a small circle of friends -- after all, everyone couldn't be James. This makes him much more believable. I wished, though, that instead of turning a blind eye to Finch he would stand up for himself. If he had, Finch wouldn't have gotten so far. Finch was a prat, and I absolutely hated how he called Louis “Wussley.” Louis would have been more that right to tell him something from the very beginning.

Your writing was, as usual, flawless. Everything strings together perfectly, and it all flows together so naturally that I managed to get through the whole story without getting bored. You have that natural talent for writing, Carole, something that I always aspire for. =) Lines such as but there was something about the way Molly was looking at him, her blue eyes so knowing, that made him turn away. and Louis stared at the now silent wardrobe, aching for another turn, but the Boggart had gone. have a way of striking the reader and making them see the scene as clearly as if they see it through their eyes. Good job, Carole!

I loved the ending, though; it was brilliant how both Laura and Louis managed to get rid of their Boggarts without any outside help. At the end of the day, Louis’ Boggart made perfect sense, really. As shown in the first few paragraphs, he was overshadowed by his older sisters and their family name, expected to be great, but ultimately it wouldn't have mattered because he wouldn't be the first to do it. In some ways, I can draw parallels between him and Ron. In DH we saw that Ron was afraid of being unimportant, and in your story, Louis was afraid of being nothing. That was rather intriguing.

The ending paragraph was very adorable. Throughout the whole story I felt an inkling that something would end up happening between the two of them (She’s pretty when she laughs, Louis thought inconsequentially.). I realize that a kiss on the cheek doesn't really mean “ending up together,” but I do hope that in the future it might bloom into a more intimate relationship. I certainly wish to see a bit more of them.

Overall, this was a fantastic read. Well done, Carole!

--Nadia

Author's Response: I've had to stop flailing before I respond because flailing makes my typing even worse - hee hee.

First off, thank you so much for such a lengthy and in depth review. Hmm, let me go through some parts now.

I've had some thoughts about Louis because he's the one person in NG canon that I can't quite fix. But I had a line in one of my stories from Dominique who was talking to Scorpius about people and the positions they play at Quidditch. For her brother she said 'Louis flies because the rest of us did.' and it was that understatement I wanted to to explore. Now, Dominique in my canon isn't altogether 'nice' but she is fiercely protective of her family. However I can see her being dismissive of Louis and not seeing what's underneath. I'd also written him as very close in age to James, so wanted to play off that dynamic.

The fear being more abstract, I sort of took the idea from the books. Harry fears 'fear' not the Demento but what it provokes, and Hermione fears failure, so it didn;t seem completely off the wall that Loius could have a less tangible fear. The idea that he was scared of being nothing came to me, and then that mixed up with other people's perception that he was scared of nothing, made it more interesting to write. Really pleased you liked his fear and how I represented it.

Hmm, do they end up together? Not sure. Louis is still very young, but I can see them having a sweet type of relationship that fizzles out. I do think they'd remain friends, though. I also liked the fact Louis got a girlfriend before James - heh heh heh.

Thank you again for the fab review. It really made my day :) ~Carole~

PS: I have plans for Louis, just no idea when I'm writing them.

Reviewer: Trucker
Date: 10/21/12 1:23
Chapter: Boggarts

I thought it was well-written, entertaining, and thought-provoking. Not bad at all!

Author's Response: Thank you. I would like to write more about Louis at some stage. ~Carole~

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 10/20/12 20:31
Chapter: Boggarts

Absolutely brilliant!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! ~Carole~

Reviewer: wanderingflobberworm
Date: 10/20/12 15:28
Chapter: Boggarts

This was great! I love your Molly in Swans and was glad to read more of her. I'm afraid I don't have anything particularly helpful to say, but this was a lovely read!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! I'm just pleased you stayed to the end and left a review. Slowly my canon of the NG children is slotting into place :) Thanks again. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 10/20/12 6:18
Chapter: Boggarts

I think of your many stories, this is possibly the nicest one I have read.. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Your review has just made my day (I'm always twitchy until the first review comes in). I'm very pleased you enjoyed the story as Louis, and his life, have been simmering in my mind for a while. ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES