Reviews For Cause and Effect
Reviewer: crf_123
Date: 11/05/15 1:09
Chapter: Chapter 1

Yu cheap oakley Xi coach outlet is celine handbags ashamed asics to coach outlet be softball bats buried in a michael kors bags sale small, pandora charms face, michael kors lying, replica watches and wedding dresses by jordan retro his pandora charms own abercrombie and fitch sunscreen. (WWW.mianhuatang.CC's p90x workout novel nike roshe cotton retro jordans candy

Starting the north face from swarovski jewelry the louis vuitton neck, soccer shoes a lululemon outlet little baseball bats down, ugg those true religion outlet fiery prada big toms shoes Zhang ray ban wandering chanel bags in the pandora jewelry body, harrods originally tiffany is louis vuitton dry. gucci The giuseppe zanotti hot summer, hilfiger outlet the, nike more bcbg max azria dry. abercrombie Hot, christian louboutin shoes really prada handbags want pandora to quickly roshe runs jumped pandora jewellery in the air max pool, prada outlet cool.

But the north face he toms outlet helped gucci shoes her tory burch outlet to hogan wipe beats by dr dre the michael kors back, and ralph lauren outlet online she tory burch turned ugg boots clearance her jordan release dates body.

"Don't michael kors put nike factory it nike free on!"

"Why? air max Not bottega afraid toms shoes outlet of new balance tanning?" Shen abercrombie and fitch kids Linyuan nike air at her, barbour jackets her mcm bags young. converse shoes Asks, michael kors but michael kors outlet online already knows., hermes birkin tender, the north face sensitive. Oh, coach handbags how oakley outlet could cheap michael kors he ralph lauren not nike store feel michael kors outlet online the chanel bags change of her basketball shoes body.

In her ralph lauren outlet next to squat, michael kors outlet online sale hands pandora toward her longchamp neck, adidas Yu cheap jerseys Xi harm itch, louis vuitton sound of cheap ray ban laughter, p90x sat hollister up, new balance shoes and Shen tiffany jewelry Linyuan michael kors handbags by air max 2015 back. cheap jerseys "Don't oakley be ugg so uggs outlet excited. north face Although north face no oakley one. coach outlet store online But, we christian louboutin shoes also bcbg dresses cannot burberry outlet online really in michael kors outlet online broad omega watches daylight, gucci shoes do nike something, roshe run ah......"

"Shen Linyuan adidas Yin beats by dre official reads

! hilfiger Your michael kors evil! adidas Old air max Meng!" ralph lauren polo Yu michael kors Xi air jordans Qi yoga pants is mizuno running a ray bans big reebok channel.

"You louis vuitton don't ray ban sunglasses mess. oakley sunglasses Still, the north face I horloges don't lululemon flow. salvatore ferragamo Meng?" mac cosmetics He ray ban sunglasses outlet said coach outlet store sadly, thomas sabo Zuohuaibuluan cheap jordans to eyeglasses online her cheap shoes wiping, oakley sunglasses and Yu new balance Xize chanel nervously burberry outlet pay close coach outlet online attention to mont blanc pens the puma chair, cheap ugg boots the hollister wipe ferragamo after, ray ban she converse has hollister clothing store the jordan shoes whole michael kors outlet body is mac cosmetics the nike free run perspiration.

She gucci outlet was in a salomon hurry handbags outlet to longchamp outlet be beats by dre in vans the longchamp water, louboutin Shen polo ralph lauren outlet Linyuan nike air max will roshe run she christian louboutin pulled michael kors outlet online back, timberland shoes "in gucci shoes the michael kors morning to christian louboutin outlet eat? tiffany So mcm handbags hurry air max down, adidas afraid nike roshe you can coach outlet not nike stand!"

He ray ban asked, ray ban in yoga pants a thoughtful abercrombie and fitch and caring manner.

"Eat uhren a ralph lauren outlet online steamed louis vuitton outlet stuffed tory burch outlet bun!"

He eyeglass frames listens, burberry handbags quickly coach factory outlet picked up the nike huarache intercom, womens clothing please gucci handbags send cheap oakley sunglasses two michael kors handbags copies christian louboutin of louis vuitton juice cheap oakley sunglasses and ugg boots cookies michael kors outlet over watermelon.

Yu swarovski crystal Xi thought michael kors uk the burberry waitress, nike quickly ralph lauren took nike store a rolex watches towel wrapped ray ban sunglasses himself.

Shen Linyuan hollister clothing took louis vuitton her ugg in adidas schuhe his ralph lauren arms, burberry outlet "you......"

His oakley sunglasses cheap hand longchamp handbags is not air max honest louis vuitton in the tiffany and co towel ralph lauren polo under hermes the coach factory outlet online mischief, jordan and timberland boots blow watches a Yu, burberry outlet Shen Linyuan beats headphones stuck ferragamo shoes in nike mercurial her flat iron ear.

"Where relojes did polo outlet online I lululemon go michael kors yesterday? tommy hilfiger outlet Well?" air max He's new balance not nike free 5.0 looking for designer handbags her chanel handbags as long tommy hilfiger as huarache she's nike roshe run safe, babyliss and polo ralph give rolex watches her abercrombie and fitch kids plenty kate spade of hilfiger online shop personal space.

If in barbour jacket outlet the toms outlet past, you hollister must tory burch sale ask her ray ban outlet where burberry outlet to go, ralph lauren see what ray ban wayfarer people, true religion jeans or ed hardy directly uggs on sale to uggs find.

"Go prada handbags to tiffany the juicy couture angel hermes outlet house, gucci the juicy couture outlet clock instyler fine moncler jackets of air jordan shoes the iphone cases money gucci outlet donated, ugg boots anyway, louis vuitton I'm louis vuitton not michael kors short swarovski of thomas sabo money oakley with my mom." Yu adidas Xi vans said tommy hilfiger softly.

Shen levi's jeans Linyuan the north face micro swarovski Leng, woolrich clearance Jianmei rolex watches for sale micro pick, "why true religion don't nike you kate spade tell true religion outlet me, let converse me go ugg australia with nike you?!"

He longchamp asked kate spade outlet me oakley gruffly, hair straightener touched jimmy choo by her michael kors kindness.

"Why nfl jerseys do ralph lauren outlet online you wedding dresses tell michael kors you ralph lauren outlet everything......" Yu Xi air force muttered, christian louboutin outlet the louis vuitton outlet waiter swarovski a juice abercrombie and fitch and prada shoes biscuits marc jacobs had calvin klein to vans shoes side, louboutin Yu burberry outlet online Xi moncler outlet hurriedly swarovski to bebe dresses sit, the north face Shen nike free run Linyuan burberry does supra shoes not cheap nike shoes allow, nike canada hands coach purses outlet still michael kors outlet do replica handbags mischief, ugg australia provoked adidas her north face outlet very insanity workout tense hollister and new balance outlet sad.

tommy hilfiger

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 11/25/12 3:58
Chapter: Chapter 2

I know you don;t like this much, but I think when you're (and I mean a general you, here) are in the middle of the writecave, then things always look dark. Jess, my love, this is a good story. It's well plotted and makes sense. Characterisation is fabulous and I like reading it. Nay, I love reading it!

Okay, I need to comment on two things.

he had done his share of bad things in his lifetime, but it wasn’t the sum of him.

Fabulous. That's what I love about Draco fics - the possibility of his redemption.

I need to direct Draco towards Terminator and the main concept 'No fate but what we make' - Draco - Blow up the damn lab! (and don;t make potions anymore :D) (I hope you see what I did there - heh heh heh.


Author's Response:

Oh, Carole, I will forever giggle at this review. First of all, ♥ that you don't hate this story, as it's rather dodgy in general. I wish I could've spent more time on this, but that just wasn't in the cards. Had it not run away with me and ended up so long, it might've got a bit of a better work-over, but it is what it is. You've Gauntleted; you know.

Draco is one of my favourite characters for this very reason, just like Harry is another favourite for the opposite (everyone who is good and just has a dark side). I wanted Draco to work for the right things because he knew that he had to. He was willing to attempt murder to keep his family safe, so of course he was willing to toss himself into the temporal schism to try to save the woman he loves and can't believe she loves him back.

As for blowing up the lab, I don't know if the laws of causality would allow that. Might implode the universe, but then again, if we created enough of a time problem, the Doctor might come to fix it. I can live with that, lol.



Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 11/23/12 20:06
Chapter: Chapter 3

Oh, Jess. :) Character death doesn't bother me one bit! I have to say that Draco is just having a horrible life, isn't he? Too bad he didn't get a child.

I have to say, this was a brilliant story! It makes my story seem weak in comparison. But don't worry about me. I like reading these stories that blow me away.

Good luck, Jess!


Author's Response:

And here we are again!

To be honest, I'm surprised anyone can follow this story, let alone find it blown-away material. However, I am glad you found enjoyment in it - certainly more than I found in writing it with all those beastly prompts. Anyway, I'm sure the end wasn't shocking, but I think if you felt anything like me, you kind of wished upon a star that it wasn't going to turn out that way. In this case, my author's prerogative was overridden by the laws of time and causality.

Thanks for reading. Good luck with your own entry, as well!


Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 11/23/12 2:59
Chapter: Chapter 1

YAYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!! Intriguing, Madam DiStrange, very intriguing. But bad bad Draco, OF COURSE you're going back or else I'll have no one to write about.

Jess, it's looking good so far. Decent plot, good characterisation and a lot of mystery DUN DUN DUUUUUN!

Will read more when I come back from work (GRRRRRR) ~Carole~

Author's Response:

Hi, Croll. :3

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 11/22/12 7:04
Chapter: Chapter 3

I did think she would die, but nonetheless I was sad she did, although it was sort of bittersweet, because she was with Draco.

It was rather a complicated story... this paragraph had me a little confused “I just couldn’t believe I missed by that much. You somehow got the formula out of me, but you even managed to convince my past self -- the one who came to the future -- that it was the right formula to go a year or so in the past after I returned to my own time using the potion I had already made. You set me up!” - but I got the general idea, and I find I can never really get my head around time travel anyway. And I did like the idea that it was Baltain all along. He did seem too good to be true (when he helped them with the potion). I thought it was interesting that he called his father weak and blind, I feel like there's a story in that.

The scene of Katie's death was really well-written... it felt like one of those moments in a movie where everything suddenly goes quiet and slows down (kind of like Sirius' death in OotP), which I really liked. Somehow that has the right drama for a death that you sort of knew would happen.

I don't think Baltain's attempts at modern English are that believable though... if he was from the 11th Century, he would have spoken Old English, and possibly a form of Old French, and Latin, and all of those have verbs and are predecessors of English, so he's unlikely to say something like "This English a stupid language", because it's lacking a verb. Anyway. I've just gone on for a paragraph about a really small thing that I probably only noticed because I'm interesting in the history of the English language.

So after that sidetrack, I did think this was a satisfactory ending to the story, and it sounds like the prompt was a bit difficult, but this does flow as a (mostly) believable story, that's certainly well-written.


Author's Response:

Ah, what to address first?

Of course, Katie was going to die. It had already happened, and by making himself a part of that timeline, Draco trapped himself as a catalyst of Katie's fate. I think that is one of the more heartbreaking things I've had to do to him, but it was a necessary evil.

The explanation was confusing, but the situation was confusing. Draco was just starting to piece together what had happened and how, and more importantly, how to keep it from happening again. This will and did cause a bit of dodgy logic. Hopefully, though, it worked itself out.

I did some research on England's primary languages in this era, and most every source I could find said that, due to the Roman conquest, most of the island spoke Latin - especially learned folks. It also makes sense, since spells in HP have always been in Latin; the Founders having taught a lot of those spells, they would have spoken Latin as compared to Old English. And as for Baltain trying to speak modern English, I will cite personal experience as my inspiration. He is learning a language on his own from only listening and comparing to words he does know; he is going to have syntax problems. Also, the difference between Latin and English sentence structure is hilariously huge. There no comparison. It reminds me of when I was learning Spanish in school. I could say things, but a lot of times, I'd either leave out words, use the wrong modifier or pronoun or suffix and end up with a Spanish milkshake of a sentence instead of something someone who actually speaks it could understand. That's why I made his struggles with English a thing. I will leave that for you to decide.

I wanted Katie's death to be the end of the story because we already know what happens after. And before. *shakes fist at causality* It was important that it happened and that you as a reader knew it did. I'm glad it was a good coda for the story. :)

Anyway, this is definitely not one of my stronger pieces, but I'll take any Katrina reviews I can get. Thank you for reading and for your support over the years. *hugs*


Reviewer: Dad
Date: 11/22/12 6:44
Chapter: Chapter 3

Sad but inevitable end. Unusual pairing and original story. Good one.

Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed the story. I don't know about original, as I probably stole half the storyline from a combination of Star Trek and Doctor Who, but I do love this pairing. Of course, though, anyone who is a student of time paradoxes, causality was always going to catch up with Katie and Draco. Effect can proceed cause and even be a catalyst for it (the chicken and the egg). It was tricky to choreograph, but the fact that your response isn't 'wtf is going on' tells me I did all right. I am glad. :D


Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 11/22/12 6:38
Chapter: Chapter 2

Well a lot of things make a lot more sense now. I like your reason for Draco wanting to go back... I really didn't think he was going back to change the necklace, because of the reasons Katie mentions, even though he probably feels guilty about it. Also there's a nice connection with your reason - in trying to prevent himself from losing her, she lost him (by him being consumed by his work) and then almost lost him to time.

I liked the beginning of this chapter, with Katie waking up by herself, and the way she felt like that was normal. And in a way Draco getting the rabbit was like him being busy with his potions... it was to help/protect her.

I know I said in my last review I found the pacing a bit slow, but it was much better in this one - it flowed really well and I've really got into the story.


Author's Response:

Yeah, I think a lot of the story flow stemmed from me having to establish a lot of backstory in order to make the upcoming information palatable. Once that nonsense was out of the way, the rest just kind of happened of its own accord.

This was where I wanted both the cracks and the strengths of Draco and Katie's bond to show. They are, after all, together for a reason, and I wanted to make sure that was explored to at least some extent. As you mentioned, Draco off hunting as Katie slept was indicative of their relationship; he worked hard to take care of her while she wished he were there for her to be with.

Anyway, I'm glad the story started to clarify itself. It's not the clearest thing ever, so that you could work through the weirdness and get to the explanation was good. Thank youuuu for being you and for visiting!


Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 11/22/12 6:21
Chapter: Chapter 1

I agree, the story is a little weird, but it's also well-written and enjoyable. I like how you focus on the relationship between Katie and Draco, even though there's crazy time travel stuff going on, I feel like this story is really about them. I thought the ending of this chapter was great and really showed that. Although I was a bit surprised that Katie apologised to him for shouting and seemed less angry at the end, I expected her to still be angry at him leaving without saying anything.

I am also curious for the next chapters, especially to know why Draco chose this particular time to go back to (clearly he wants to escape his life, but why the 11th Century), and what he's been doing for three months.

As usual, it's well-written, but personally I found it a little bit longer than it needed to be... it's not that there's a particular section I would cut, but I just found it took me until almost the end of the chapter to really get into it.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to the rest. I hope Draco's got some proper answers.


Author's Response:

Gah, I miss you!

This story was a handful because of the nature of the Gauntlet prompts (and probably the crux of the pacing issue). I probably could've worked it a bit better, but by the time the fourth or fifth prompt hit, I just wanted the whole thing to end. Hence the patchy pacing.

Draco's trip back in time is explained in the final chapter, but as for what he was doing for three months, the answer is mainly surviving. What else could he do, when his potion to send him a couple years back in time sends him a millennium? Most of the ingredients he used were imported from elsewhere, and in that day and age, that meant unavailable. He thought he was going to spend the rest of his life in the land that time forgot, lol.

Katie apologised to Draco for shouting because she can see that he had already suffered enough. After all, he did spend months scraping by in a barbaric time period. Plus, she loves him to the point where, if she bitched about every inconsiderate thing he ever did, they'd never speak to each other again.

Anyway, off to respond to the rest. I hope things have proven illuminating.


Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 11/19/12 10:18
Chapter: Chapter 2

Hello! :) Before I say how fantastic this is, I want to point out that in your eighth paragraph, you wrote that they put the skin out in the sun to "try," instead of "dry." you may want to fix that. Also, I wasn't sure on your spelling of "maneuver" right after Draco and Katie escape Aelbert. Just an observation...

Anyways, I love it! The relationship feels so real, and I want to steal it so badly! Maybe my next piece will feature Draco/Katie... :) Great job! I can't wait to see what happens next. Keep it coming! ~Nagini

Author's Response:

Formalities first: I fixed the typo you pointed out, and the spelling in question is the British English spelling of 'maneuver'. Just weird, I guess. :)

Anyway, yayayayay at Draco/Katie shipping! Julia was happy when I told her (she's my Draco/Katie partner in crime). I fully endorse any Katico fic ventures, and I hope you enjoyed the rest of the story.


Reviewer: Dad
Date: 11/19/12 7:06
Chapter: Chapter 2

I am not confused. I also lie a lot.

Author's Response: Touche, good sir! Feel free to make any inquiries, and I shall do my best to point out where in the story the answers might be found. The answers are there, but as the narrator herself isn't entirely sure of what's going on most of the time, they're hidden in little pockets throughout the fic.


Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 11/17/12 16:57
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is easily one of the weirdest things I've ever read - but somehow that isn't a criticism. For me it was more about their relationship than the bizarre time travelling, and as always your characterisation was dead on and believable. Draco and Katie's fractured relationship was so human, and the lengths Draco was willing to go to to 'fix' it were completely believable and flowed perfectly. I must admit I didn't entirely understand exactly what happened with the time jump and why, but I think that will be remedied after I re-read this, and that really isn't a criticism. Your ability to create such a believable story out of such a bizarre situation really should be commended. I'm probably not explaining myself very well but what I'm trying to say is that I actually really enjoyed this and that the weirdness worked!


Author's Response:

Oh, Fenella, I will never cease to adore your reviews. :D

This story was weird - weird to write and weird to plot. I had a rough idea of how I wanted things to go down, but how to get there was at the tender mercy of my Gauntlet guide. I can't convey how many annoyed PMs I sent my guide because I was unhappy with being derailed yet again, but I sucked it up and here we are.

Draco and Katie are a ship that shouldn't work, but when you break down the nuts and bolts of who they are as people, they kinda do. I never really thought Katie resented Draco for the necklace thing, because that isn't who she is. I think Draco hated himself for the things the Dark Lord made him do than anyone who was or might've been hurt by his efforts. Overall, I think it's made him a more complex and real character.

I don't blame you for being confused by the plot. I even had to read it a couple times myself to make sure it made sense to ME. I really wanted to have a beta for that purpose, but mine flaked out on me, so it was freeballing from there. Erk. Anyway...

Thank you so much for your visit and ever-kind words. I look forward to your visits, even if I'm a dolt and don't respond quickly enough. *hugs*


Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 11/17/12 16:01
Chapter: Chapter 1

Gah, you have done so well with the prompts so far! I actually did not have to suspend my belief, Jess. :) I think the only thing I was skeptical of was the people burning Draco, because they normally didn't go after men for witchcraft, but I think it worked in this case so there was a sense of danger. Overall, I really enjoyed it! I was do excited to see this, and as I read, I tried to catch the prompts given to us. I was thrilled when she drank the potion, and equally impressed with how you incorporated the second prompt. I eagerly await the next chapter... :) In the meantime, would you mind reading my story and reviewing? It is sadly misrepresented with its zero reviews... :(

Great job Jess!


Author's Response:

Sorry for the epically late response!

Actually, they weren't burning Draco for being a witch; rather, he was caught stealing. Normally, they'd chop a hand, but if he tried to use magic at all to free himself, they very well might've tried burning him at the stake.

This story is weird. I still don't know if I'll ever be happy with it, and I'm pretty sure my Gauntlet fic from two years ago was better than this, but I had fun writing Draco and Katie, who are one of my OTPs. Thankfully, the endgame that I had planned for the story from the outset was more or less intact. When you know where you're going, it tends to be easier to get there.

Usually, I make it a policy not to review challenge fics I'm judging or stories I mod, but if I do happen to find the time, I will do my best to check out the competition!

Thanks for the visit!


Reviewer: Dad
Date: 11/17/12 12:44
Chapter: Chapter 1

An unusual pairing and an adventurous story line.

Author's Response:

Haha, this is one of my first HP OTPs. Then I realised that I hadn't written a proper fic about them. After writing this, I see I still haven't done, but it was...interesting. Thanks for stopping in!


You must login (register) to review.
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.

We have stories and authors in this archive.


Choose Theme:
Not From Others by FloreatCastellum 6th-7th Years
She may not have been able to join Harry, Ron and Hermione, but Ginny refuses...
A Seer Named Rosemary Snape by PlutoLovegood 1st-2nd Years
In 2018 Neville and Harry deliver a Hogwarts acceptance letter to Rosemary Snape...
Gelido Dormitabis (An Icy Slumber) by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
A poetic look at the oppressive sleep of the Inferi within the icy cave.Written...
A Christmas Choice by coolh5000 3rd-5th Years
After working late one Christmas Eve and missing yet another day out with his...
Winter at the Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The winter solstice, the shortest, harshest days of the year. Would you have...
A Passing Fancy by HalfASlug 1st-2nd Years
The Yule Ball is on the horizon and Neville knows only one girl that he wants...
Four Christmases by Squibstress 6th-7th Years
Minerva attempts to teach Severus Occlumency and perhaps something more.