Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/16/13 13:04
Chapter: Epilogue

I loved it! I'm so happy for Lee and Daphne. I think Hector and Thalia will be alright after some time passes and they gather their things in a new place in Bath. I'm going to choose something else to read. I'm putting off Uncovered By Death for a while.

Author's Response: I have been hideously slack at responding to reviews lately, and you've left so many, so I really have to apologise. Thank you very much for reading and enjoying the story, and above all for reviewing. It really is appreciated. Uncovered by Death, btw, is practically finished, I'm on the Epilogue now, but I have three chapters with a beta, so I'm waiting. Basically, I'm just telling you that so you know it will get finished, but yes, you might want to wait until I've marked it complete. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/16/13 12:25
Chapter: Chapter 16 ~ Paint a Picture

That was wonderful. I can't tell you how happy I am that Daphne and Lee got back together. This shows how valuable talking is. We often assume things that aren't even true. I liked the reference back to the Triwizard Tournament and to Myron Wagtail. I hate that I'm at the end of this story but it's not like you don't have anything else available to read:D

Author's Response: Thank you! I loved writing this story. Even though it took forever as the original 3 chapters mushroomed to this behemoth. Oh Myron Wagtail - i have a story about him somewhere paired with Charity. (Teenage Witch, if you're interested.) Thank you for all your reviews, it's been appreciated. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/15/13 16:58
Chapter: Chapter 15 - A Slytherin Trait

I hope Lee heard every word Daphne said. It would be cool if he went after her. I hope you let them find love. I'm just an old romantic.:D Good for Daphne for saying what she thinks. Let her "Roar" as Katy Perry would say.

Author's Response: I'm an old romantic, too. I like happy endings! Hmm, well, he did overhear, so let's see what he did. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/15/13 14:36
Chapter: Chapter 14 ~ Memorial Day

wow--that was intriguing. I thought something was up with Byron but I didn't think it was this bad. You hate to say this about someone but maybe he should offer himself up as a human sacrifice. He'll never be that noble though.

Author's Response: Hahahahahah - yeah, Byron should be spit-roasted. Hmm, he's also exaggerating. Nothing's that bad in his life. thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/10/13 12:40
Chapter: Chapter 13 - Suspicion

I'm so glad to see Tracey out. I hope she gets out more often. Maybe she'll realize that her face isn't that important. She realized that in a way when she saw Bill interact with his family. Is Septima avoiding Daphne for some reason? She can't know what happened between Daphne and Lee.

Author's Response: No, Septima wasn't avoiding Daphne particularly; she had to go back to Hogwarts. If she had known about Daphne meeting Lee, then I think she'd have been more inclined to stay, or taken her to Hogwarts with her. Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/09/13 13:03
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Recriminations

Lee's and Daphne's relationship seems very real but I think their problem is that they both make assumptions about the other's actions and then argue about it or start to argue and then run away. I really hope that Daphne and Lee get back together. Or will their relationship be too volatile?

Author's Response: They have made stupid assumptions about each other, and also Lee was very hurt by Daphne's rejection of him - sigh - Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 10/08/13 23:08
Chapter: Epilogue

Clearly, I should read Persuasion. Or maybe just go back to chapter one and read this again. :) Carole, I had the absolute pleasure of reading this for the QSQs and don't mind telling you I was blown away. And that is saying something, because when your name is listed as the author, my expectations are already quite high. Love the characters and the pairing, and all the little subplots with the family and whatnot. I thought the house characteristics of all involved were especially well-done and yet the characters were unexpected, too, in a good way.

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant, and so deserving of this win! Enjoy! ~ Lori

Author's Response: LORRIIIIIII So sorry I haven't read and responded to this review earlier (I got deluged with them with this story - hee hee). Thank you so much for the review and I'm so glad you liked the story. Oh, read Persuasion, it's lovely. OR try to get hold of the film with Rupert penry-Jones as Captain Wentworth (Lee Jordan - ha ha). That just has the most wonderful scene in Bath that makes me cry whenever I see it. Thank you again for reviewing. It's really appreciated. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/07/13 17:31
Chapter: Chapter 11 ~ Past Selves

It's funny how things work out. Sometimes we assume things are a certain way when they're totally the opposite. I figured Tracey was disabled in some way. At some point or another I think we all feel like the world is looking at us and talking about us when no one's really paying attention to us in particular. A lot of people were injured in the Battle but Tracey doesn't seem to realize that. Daphne's right. Tracey needs to get out and do something even if she volunteers. That will add another dimension to her life so she can focus on other than herself and how she looks.

Author's Response: There's a man called Simon Weston in UK who was very badly injured in the Falklands War in the 80s. His face is a mass of scars and reconstructive surgery, but the thing is, after a while you genuinely do not notice it. He's got such stature. Anyway, that was the inspiration behind my reasoning for Daphne concerning Tracey, and I imagine Bill Weasley would be the same. thank you for the review ~Carole

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/07/13 14:00
Chapter: Chapter 10 ~ Friendship

I wonder what's up with Tracey. You have to wonder if something happened to her during the battle. Daphne seems like a strong person so she can probably deal with Tracey. That must be tough when people think you ran off but actually did come back to fight, except no one knows that. Wouldn't it be funny if Byron was the one who went to visit Hector in the night:p

Author's Response: Hahahahah - I did at one point think about Byron seducing hector - don;t really know why, but the thought amused me. Ah, Tracey, yes, well, you found out why she wouldn't see people. Sometimes magic can't fix everything. thank you - Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/06/13 20:33
Chapter: Chapter 9 ~ Loyalties

I don't think of myself as brave but the way you wrote this chapter made me feel like I would've stayed to fight. I don't think I've felt this way before. How did Septima know how Charity died? Do you think Byron's getting the hint?

Author's Response: Septima questioned the Malfoys and Narcissa told her. It's one of the reasons she dislikes Draco so much. But I suspect you've got to that bit now - ha ha. Thank you! ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/06/13 9:57
Chapter: Chapter 8 ~ Confrontation

Wow, what a way to kill friendships. I'm a little surprised that Daphne won't fight against family. She was thrown in to deal with other students though and get them to safety. Her actions aren't going to look good to Lee either. Too bad. I really liked this chapter. I wonder what Byron is after.

Author's Response: It's not just fighting though. It's possibly having to kill someone in your family, and she just doesn't know if she could do that. Same dilemma as Theo, except he knows his dad is on the other side - sigh. No, Lee is not looking at her favourably - more sighing. Thank you!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/04/13 18:14
Chapter: Chapter 7 - Discoveries

I'm glad Daphne found someone to talk to. Otherwise her existence must be so lonely. Wouldn't you know that Byron shows up in Bath. I'm sure Daphne wasn't thrilled with that. There's a minor point and you may know this already but Mexico isn't in South America; it's in Central America. Cancun is in Mexico but not in South America. I didn't know if Byron was both in Mexico and South America or if he was in Mexico. Small point but it confused me.

Author's Response: You know something, I always get that wrong, I had someone pull me up on Incas/Aztecs etc in Mexico. My geography is very poor and I always forget there's a Central America! Thank you so much. MMM, Byron has turned up ... Thank you.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/04/13 17:43
Chapter: Chapter 6 - Reunions

Lee is pretty entertaining. I'll bet Daphne will kick herself for the rest of her life for letting him get away. It's good that she saw her father in Byron, telling her that he wasn't a good idea. You wrote his character to be arrogant and self-centered. It's funny to think of Scorpius being this very active baby and then to compare that picture to his handsome young adult years:D

Author's Response: Ah, this isn't really compliant with High or Uncovered by Death, but i do think Scorpius was an active baby who probably walked early and was into everything. Basically, you won't find Thalia mentioned as his aunt anywhere but there are some similarities in characterisation, and I've kept Astoria as a very young bride to Draco because that was always my head canon before I discovered she was only 2 years younger. Thank you _Carole-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/03/13 18:42
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Consequences

I don't blame the Patil twins for not wanting to obviously associate with Daphne. That year was a bad year for almost everyone. But if you could remain hidden it must have been an exciting time. Would you believe that I just now got what they said when Harry arrived back at Hogwarts in May 1998--"Lightning has struck." I always wondered why they said that--it's because of his scar isn't it? I'm a Ravenclaw but I'm not sure I'd be able to get into my House if I had to solve riddles:D

Author's Response: I can imagine the Slytherins would have been shunned by everyone at Hogwarts, and although some of them deserved it, JK did say some of the Slyths went back to fight, so some would have been good, just not involved. If Daphne had openly rebelled, I think she'd have been dealt with far more harshly than someone from another house. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/03/13 18:06
Chapter: Chapter 4 - Impulse

I hate that when people keep harassing you to do something you don't want to do. I think Daphne should've run off with Lee. But I'm a romantic at heart. She should've just up and left and not told anybody. My youngest daughter's name is Demelza. She was named that before Harry Potter came out:D

Author's Response: Ah, I love the name Demelza. There was a character in the Poldark set of books called Demelza - did you name her after her? Yes, i think Daphne should ahve run off with him, but she was persuaded otherwise and it's very likely the Snatchers would have caught up with her at some stage. lee was probably safer on his own. :( - sigh- all that time wasted. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/03/13 16:14
Chapter: Chapter 3 -Spice

This certainly isn't a good time to fall in love. Daphne's going to have to keep Lee hidden. For a moment I forgot all of the weirdness that happened at Bill and Fleur's wedding. Poor Charity--she's a goner. I didn't expect Lee to have so much trouble with his job but it really is the times.

Author's Response: hyes, Daphne and Lee really did get together at the wrong time ~sigh ~ Carole

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/03/13 15:37
Chapter: Chapter 2 ~ Ice Cream

I liked a lot:D I wish I could find someone like Lee (although I do realize that I'm too old for this stuff to happen). I noticed that Charity resigned. Now you've got me obsessed with Charity. The love scene was great. I guess you can't put this in a children's book:D

Author's Response: I've become reobsessed with Charity, having read your reviews earlier. Yeah, Lee is pretty lovely - sigh - the reason I chose him, btw, was this was written for my friend (the opaleye) and she's very into music, so Lee - as a radio person - seemed the obvious choice. Thank you very much ~Carole

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/02/13 18:39
Chapter: Chapter 1 ~ First Meeting

Now I remember who Lee Jordan is--I was confusing him with Dean. I guess this was back in the time when what House you were in mattered. I'm starting to think I like anything you write.

Author's Response: Yes, the House system seemed much more important in Harry's day. Plus Quidditch rivalry made it even more important. Yeah, Lee was the commentator and friend of the twins. Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/02/13 18:23
Chapter: Prologue

Wow--this has an interesting start. Wasn't Daphne the one who sent the tequila to Scorpius? She kind of sounds like a survivor while her father thinks she's dull.

Author's Response: Oh, I should warn you, this story has very little to do with my other Next Gen stories, so the Daphne Greengrass here isn't necessarily the same one that's in High (and in Uncovered by Death). Hope you enjoy it, though. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 09/22/13 15:26
Chapter: Epilogue

I have enjoyed this story from the beginning. If they had marks on mugglenet. it would get ten out of ten.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for all the reviews. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the story because I loved writing it. ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
CATEGORIES