Reviews For The Walnut Tree
Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 10/07/13 6:45
Chapter: Chapter 1 ~ Proverbs

I was a bit nervous when I started this fic. I'm not usually one for Student/Teacher romances and Oliver is so young at the beginning but you blew my expectations out of the water with the way you develop several sensitive storylines. The development of Charity and Oliver is spaced out over many years, and the way they go from a purely student/teacher dynamic to something more is very tastefully done, which I wasn’t sure would be possible. Serves me right for doubting the Great Croll! What was I even worrying about?!?!

The chemistry between Charity and Oliver in the later years is deliciously sexy, and, well, I certainly enjoyed that aspect of the fic haha. But that's hardly news.

I also thought the backstory of Charity really fleshed her out from a character we know not much about apart from her occupation and death, into someone who not only fits into the Potterverse, but was interesting and emotionally compelling. I was moved by this fic in many parts and while it is not a comforting read all the time, it is unputdownable.

By the last chapter, I was dreading the end, knowing what we do about Charity's death, but I love the way you finish things on such a hopeful and happy note. It's bittersweet in the scheme of things, of course, but I love it all the same.

Author's Response: Sorry I've taken so long to reply. I won;t lie, not only did your review blow me away, but I have a lot of emotional connections to this fic. (No, I haven't had a student/teacher relationship - ha ha)

Basically, I've always felt that Charity's death was so empty and sad. We never know the woman, never get to see her POV except that she defended Muggles and Muggleborns and her death is so horrific.

The other reason is that (as you probably know) the proverb about the Walnut Tree is used in Foyles War. I was watching that and wrote the proverb down because I really wanted to use it somewhere. So basically, I have Charity and Foyle tugging at me.

I couldn't end this on a sad note, just as I couldn't end DNW with Oliver grieving for Cedric, or Teenage Witch with Charity's death. I don't like sad endings, but knowing they are there does make you rethink the ending of your own stories.

Thank you again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/02/13 14:55
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Chasing Dreams

I was feeling nervous reading the ending, thinking you would end up with the scene in Malfoy Manor. That would've been very sad knowing that Oliver loved her and probably was trying to find her. I was nervous for nothing since this was a lovely ending. I'm happy you ended it that way and that Oliver was mature enough to chase his dream. I'm such a sucker for romance:D See you next time in another story. Thanks for giving me some recommendations from your stories. I'm always selfishly sad when the fan fiction authors that I love turn to their own writing. But at the same time I guess I'll have to share them with a few more people:D I'm working on my own writing too but I'm writing children's books which you think would be easy but there are so many things to consider.

Author's Response: Oh, yes, i know what you mean. I want to write a set of children's books (amongst other ideas) but the hardest part is being unpatronising, I find.Also, as you've seen, I like writing smut, which I can't do in a children's book although I can hint a little.

I didn;t want to end on an exceptionally sad note, although for days after I was consumed by an AU version where Oliver saves her ... somehow. I still hate her death :( Thank you for reading. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/01/13 18:53
Chapter: Chapter 4 -Tea and Sympathy

You've really dragged me into this story. I never thought Oliver Wood was so interesting before:D I've always felt sad for Charity Burbage--that scene at Malfoy Manor and all. I wonder if you're taking this to the bitter end. I'll know after the next chapter.

Author's Response: I have another story about Charity somewhere called Teenage Witch, and she's in one with Draco (which I'm struggling to recall the name of). I really do get quite upset about Charity, I have to say. Earlier this year I went to the Warner Brother's Studio Tour and there was a dummy of Charity suspended in the air, just as in the film, and it really made me halt in shock. I have always loved Oliver, but have generally written him as gay or bisexual, so this was a departure - ha ha. I keep mixing up my own canon. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, and I hope you like the conclusion. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/01/13 14:25
Chapter: Chapter 3 - Careers

Gods, I didn't even think that they couldn't Appararate out of Hogwarts. It was in a dream and I figure that if you're the author you have a degree of artistic license. It's sad when people do something only for their parents. I didn't expect Wood to kiss Charity.

Author's Response: Oh they can't Apparate out of Hogwarts, but I figured that when you're dreaming you forget those rules - ha ha ha - I basically explained because I knew that any Hermione types out there would pull me up on it. Oliver shouldn't have kissed her, but then he's a teenager, seventeen and she's being so sympathetic which he so badly needs - poor love. Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/01/13 13:47
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Laws

I was thinking for a while that Marcus fancied Charity, but it was his older brother. This story has kind of an interesting twist to it--date rape/violence.

Author's Response: Yes, Jonah Flint ... nasty piece of work. I based this whole story around the Walnut Tree proverb which I heard in a tv show. I wrote it down and then tried to think of a story. Hmm, there's not date rape here, thankfully. Thanks for the review ~Carole

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 09/30/13 18:32
Chapter: Chapter 1 ~ Proverbs

I don't know why I'm reading this story. I guess because I don't know much about Charity and I was hoping you'd explain her character. I'm liking this so far. I think Dorinda needs a beating with a stick. Oops, did I just say that?

Author's Response: Hahahahahahah - she gets better, well, I hope you think so. Thank you! ~Carole~

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/07/13 21:47
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Chasing Dreams

I loved this, and it's a different take on student/teacher fics than what I've come across before. I liked the way you spread this out over several years, and didn't go for any cliches of love potions, detentions etc and made their relationship seem natural. The connections over domestic abuse would obviously draw them together. I think you handled that topic really well, when it can be quite hard to write about. I thought it was good that you didn't say that Marcus necessarily abused women all the time, and so avoided the stereotype of him being exactly the same as his brother (I hope that makes sense).

I loved all the secondary characters and side story lines in this, especially Dorinda and how Charity in a way turned her life around. I loved how you depicted Charity as the kind of teacher who really cares for her students and tries to help them personally as well as in class... she just generally seemed like an awesome teacher.

I thought you drew the canon events into the story really well - they're not the focus obviously, as they are in the books, but those events would have had an impact on the whole school and I think you showed that well. I also liked your inclusion of canon characters, like Remus, Percy or Fred and George.

I think I've read another one of your stories that describes Oliver's back story in more detail, but it worked self-sufficiently in this. His father's abuse really shows why he would be so fanatical about Quidditch.

I thought Charity and Oliver worked really well together as a couple... I don't know whether they would last a long time, but at this point, Charity was still struggling with her past relationship with Jonah, and I think being with Oliver would really help her with that. While she seems quite mature as a teacher, I think in some ways she is still quite immature and it would be interesting to see how they both grow up together and how much they change.

Anyway, I really loved this whole story.

~Katrina

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review. I have been wanting to write a teacher/student romance for a while now but wanted it to be un-icky and not featuring Snape - ha ha. For some young teachers, it must be hard teaching kids who are only a few years younger, so i wanted to capture that. I'm glad it worked for you.

Regarding Marcus, I don't think he was an abuser like Jonah was. He might have had the same upbringing and been tempted to act in a similar way, but although he did lash out and didn't treat Dorinda at all well, my intention was that he wasn't a controller in the way Jonah was.

Oliver's backstory is written about in more detail in Drowning, not Waving and also a story called 'Footprints in the Sand' - However the stories aren't linked because in those, Oliver's gay, but I like the background for Oliver's obsession with Quidditch so kept it in.

I agree that Charity is quite immature. There's a part of her still in limbo after Jonah left, so she's essentially still seventeen. I think that's why her and Oliver connect together. Will it last? I would like it to, but she dies. Charity's death seems to be upsetting me more than the other deaths these days. I've become rather attached to her - sigh -.

Thank you again for the lovely review - Carole-

Reviewer: dreamsnape
Date: 03/12/13 23:27
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Chasing Dreams

I quite enjoyed this story. It was plausible, and kind of fun to see familiar events from the books, like Harry's first quidditch match, from a different perspective. You stayed true to the characters and made Charity a very dimensional, and pretty much original character. That interested me especially, since the OC in my stories is a Muggle Studies teacher, too.

Author's Response: Thnak you very much for the review. I like writing alternate views of canon and fitting them in to the actual events, which was why I decided on those particular years at H/W rather than the window afterwards when Oliver had left school. I appreciate the review - thanks again. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Verita Serum
Date: 03/09/13 23:47
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Chasing Dreams

Alsdjflajijfa baahhh! I don't even know how to convey what I am thinking into words right now, so please excuse the discombobulated review to follow.

I do tend to stray from teacherstudent relationships, as I find them either unrealistic or cringe-worthy. You have turned the whole concept on its head.

Oliver is wonderful. You've given him such a real maturity through his goal of taking care of his mother, that his outbursts and hotheadedness regarding Quidditch aren't irksome to me at all the way I sometimes find them to be in the books (Whoops -- is it a sin to say Oliver Wood worked my nerves a bit?)

You've written Charity with such understandable vulnerability that it is easy to see her begin to harbor a crush for Oliver. Though I have to admit that I briefly championed a Remus/Charity twist.

In short, this was wonderful. You have so much intricacy crammed into five parts that I feel I just read a novel's worth of information! I even felt like I learned from her Muggle Studies class! Great job, yet again.

--AG

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm glad you didn't find the student/teacher concept to be too icky because it's one of the reasons I tend to shy away from it. (That and they always seem to involve Snape). Charity/Remus is something i've thought about in the past and there's a chapter in one of my chaptereds where they become close.

Oh, I do like Oliver, but I agree he's so obsessed in the books with Quidditch that sometimes I want to shake him. But I now have fairly secure canon for his motivations which involves his parents, and so I suppose I like him a lot more now - ha.

Thank you again for the lovely review. ~Carole~

Reviewer: blackbeauty7
Date: 03/09/13 9:59
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Chasing Dreams

i loved it :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 03/05/13 7:39
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Chasing Dreams

All right, I won't go on about Remus and Charity this time. Sorry about that. And I can't, because I liked Charity and Oliver too much. I'm glad she decided to go for it. On one hand, it did strike me as I finished that at times he was a bit young and immature for her...but at other times, they had a lot in common (abuse, Dementors, etc.) that they could relate to on the same level. Plus I'm sure he'll mature quite a bit now he's out of school. And, well, he's just hot!
I thought you wrote the leaving very well. I don't live with the kids I teach and I just send them off to the next school when they're done with mine, so I imagine it's quite different in a boarding school when you send your students into the real world as young adults. It was very moving. And the brief mentions of Remus were very sad. Using him was a good way to ground the story, btw--it's not about Harry so we don't need all his PoA adventures (and they were probably pretty hush-hush anyway) but it was just so nice to see a character we're more familiar with join us in the story.
I really loved your Charity, but you know that from your other stories about her (still love the one with the rock star!) And again all the supporting players were great too. The story built nicely through the years, which was necessary, I think, to make it believable. It's just too bad it went over the word count for the challenge. :(
Lovely little tale. I daresay reading your stories may bring me out of not writing anything since the Cotillion closed (I know, I know - that was only five days ago but still, lol)
Still have more to catch up, but I will. And don't worry about a responding right away. Take an hour or two. ;)
~Gina :)

Author's Response: I'm going to reply now because I've just thought of something :). My feeling with Oliver has always been that he's quite mature because of his background and determination. With Charity in this story, she was still affected very much by the relationship with Jonah (she hadn't seen anyone else which was what Septima was getting at) so at the age of 24 she was still quite locked in teenage feelings - hence the crush when someone paid attention to her. I think she also realises it could just be a fling; Oliver is about to start a career as a Quidditch player, and she is still a teacher. They both have some growing up to do, and might grow apart :(

As regards writing, I've gone back to a WIP, but only went back to it today, so you're not alone.

Thank you very much for all your reviews for this story. It is much appreciated. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 03/04/13 22:14
Chapter: Chapter 4 -Tea and Sympathy

Oh. Remus and Charity. Remus and Charity.
No, wait. This story is about Charity and Oliver. I'm supposed to be rooting for them. Right.
But Remus and Charity in PoA! I LOVE IT!!!
Okay, back to Oliver. Yes, he's stil lovely. You've done a great job holding Charity back but letting her acknowledge her crush. Does Remus suspect?
Oh. There's Remus again. Oops.
Also, love your other students and Septima in particular. And how you had the Dementors affect Charity and Oliver. And the reference to cow biscuits, which I shall have to try if and when I ever make my way across the pond.
Sorry about the goofy review - Will finish soon!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Hahahahah - yeah, I teased a little with the Remus connection. Actually, in AA, Remus and Charity do have a brief fling but his werewolfness affects them too much :( :( :( (oh, and Tonks turns up - lol)

Certainly Oliver isn;t as keen on Remus now - ha ha ha. Sorry, giggling incoherently at this., I loved writing Remus in this chapter because he is such a lovely person. I'm sad I couldn't bring Sirius in, too, but ... well ... there you go,

I want to save Charity now. How pitiful is it that I want to write an AU just to save a character and a pairing, which is something I always swore I'd never do.
br> COW BISCUITTTTS!!!! They really aren't anything wildly special, and are actually quite cheap but they're very moreish - and Soraya agrees with me.

Thank you so much for the review. Perhaps I should wait a while before responding so I leave something more sensible. ha ha - tooooooo late. ~Carole~

PS - I love writing Septima and must find a proper story for her soon.

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 03/03/13 20:57
Chapter: Chapter 3 - Careers

I thought I had read this and started reading the next chapter and was confused, so now I'm properly catching up. This was lovely. I think I already said this, but I love love how you are weaving your story into what's going on in the castle during this year. It's really well done. And the kiss...well, I know it's wrong, but I could totally picture it happening and now I'm just rooting for them to grow up so they can try again. ;)
But, having read a bit of the next chapter, I know that doesn't happen yet, lol.
I liked it! I love her and your Wood (even with his sad history) is wonderful!
Haha - your Wood is wonderful. That sounds a big dodgy, doesn't it? ;)
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu. I have to say I do really like weaving stories around the actual events we saw in the books, even though the timeline at certain points came close to breaking me.Hope you like the rest of the story. :D ~Carole~

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 02/27/13 22:57
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Chasing Dreams

The smut was so hot it killed my internet.

Bahahaha.

Oh, but the tension building up to it!What can I say? I was about to post this status on the LS "please shag please shag please shag" and then AIM logged off. >.<

This is a really, really great fic, Croll! Yes, it's sad that it is way over the word count limit and you might be taking it off the running, but honestly, you should be proud you wrote this. (I know you are :D Just saying!) I just love the characters, how you presented the Muggle Studies classes and curriculum, the smut, and of course, how these two reach there. It ties in well with your general canon of that era, but it's also a wonderful fic in its own right.

Great work! I shall be reading Lucibeth and Sean soon.

~Natalie

Author's Response: they did shag. You got your wish! Hahahahahahah - still dying at this review after two days. Thank you so much for all your help, reviews and giggling smexiness - hee hee.

I won't take this out of the running, I don;t think, because the sixth story I wrote wouldn't make it out of the starting blocks. (MY PRONGS I'M ON FIRE WITH MY ANALOGIES!). I don;t want Charity to die. I'm wondering if I can write Oliver rushing in at the crucial moment to rescue her from Voldypants and that fricking snake. Just .... how can someone be eaten? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

sigh. Life sucks, as Goyle would say. :( ~Carole~

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 02/27/13 12:12
Chapter: Chapter 4 -Tea and Sympathy

Oh no.

I enjoyed this chapter but goddammit there's only one left and they haven't shagged yet what is the world coming to, eh? EH?

Author's Response: I have recently discovered shame, that's what the world is coming to (as no one else seems to be ;p) Thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu. ~Crololololololol

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 02/27/13 11:47
Chapter: Chapter 3 - Careers

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH.

Okay, first of all, glad Dorinda saw sense in the end. Secondly, holy fricking Prongs! This was a fantastic chapter! You're developing these characters really well against the backdrop of familiar canon event.

And the kiss. Do you remember something I said about chemistry and biology? (well, it should have been bio, not physics ha ha ha)

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad you don't dislike Dorinda anymore. I did want to show that she had the option that Charity didn't feel she had, basically because I think Dorinda has a much tougher streak in her, and had Charity's advice in her head.

Ah, the kiss - mwahahahahahah. Mind you, Oliver is physic(al).

ta very much, o light of my life. ~Crolllllllll

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 02/27/13 11:19
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Laws

I forgot to mention in the first review that I immediately recognised Oliver's hesitance about domestic abuse from your canon.

I don't know what to say, except ... this is painfully realistic, isn't it? The denial. The cycle of abuse. I hadn't expected the story to move to this direction, and I can't say I'm glad it's did. However, it has, and you have done the topic justice so far.

I am going to read on!

Author's Response: I hope the domestic violence issue works in this because it was something I'd had in mind for a while (well, you know my canon for Oliver) - Ascribing it to Charity came about because I've long had an idea surrounding that proverb. It did feel a very difficult topic to tackle, which was one of the reasons the fic went over the word count, but also I didn't want a neatly tied up 'happy-ever-after' solution to the issue because in RL that doesn't always happen. Jonah did get away with it, sadly, and maybe Marcus isn't as bad as him. Hmmm, basically I hope I haven't tied myself in knots here. I did have to move the story on in the end, so hope it doesn't end up as trite.

Thank you for all the fabulousness that are your reviews :) ~Crollllalalalalalalalalalalanza

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 02/27/13 10:52
Chapter: Chapter 1 ~ Proverbs

Fantastic beginning!!! GAHHH! This is what great fanfic is all about. I was completely thrown off by the beginning; I thought you'd begun with her being abducted by Death Eaters O...O But she isn't!

Loving the characters so far, and I should say, loving to hate Dorinda. How do you manage to write this people who are so easy to despise? Hmm? Methinks you're taking inspiration from my company...

I almost wish I betaed this, just so I could leave all the comments at the parts I loved. Ugh I can't type anymore I'm going to continue reading.

Author's Response: I wish you'd beta'd it and then I'd feel a bit more confident with it.

Yeah, that first part was deliberate. I was trying to recapture some of that fear because the thing people associate with Charity is the manner of her death - sigh. Ahhh, Dorindaaaaaaaaa. Yeah, not very sympathetic, is she? (is she? hmmmmmmmm, wait and seeeeee) And she does have dark hair . . . (Croll runs away before she's hexed)

Thank you for the reviewwwwwwwwwwwwww. ~CON

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 02/26/13 10:26
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Chasing Dreams

The opening chapter of Deathly Hallows horrified me, but I didn't cry for Charity then. Now I'm crying. And for Oliver too.

Author's Response: I keep crying over Charity because of her really horrible death, so I've written her some stories where she has a bit of happiness. Now I want to save her. :( Thank you so much for all your reviews. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 02/26/13 9:21
Chapter: Chapter 4 -Tea and Sympathy

"“They’re skilful. Good eye to hand coordination, but a bit boring, really, and went on all afternoon.”" Oliver should watch some T20 cricket. It's all the rage now and doesn't go on for days. :D
Moving on...oh where do i even start? Absolutely brilliant chapter with so many brilliant lines...
"“I think what Septima is going to tell you, Charity,” Remus said as he pulled up a chair, “is that I used to know Black. We were at school together, as was Septima.”" What an entry, Prof.Lupin, cool and casual and matter-of-fact forever. And Charity complaining about having to teach the Gryffindor team who can't sit still.
Oliver recovered from his team’s defeat faster than she’d thought possible. Unlike last year, there was no repeat of the fury that had caused such havoc; he’d even turned up on time to her lessons, much to everyone’s amusement.

“I might need a fall back option,” he retorted when Dorinda mocked him. “Or I could fail my NEWTS this year and come back to Hogwarts like your ex.”

She smiled acidly. “Keep failing, and by the age of fifty, you might just win the Cup, Wood!”
...
The little detail of Harry being delighted to see Remus, Remus talking about James...this was 3rd year, right? I wish I could see a bit of Hermione Granger but then I understand the focus is not on her year.
Great great last part., especially the last couple of sentences.

Author's Response: Yes, I couldn;t really get Hermione into the story, but id have plans for her originally because I imagine her being quite annoying and correcting everything Charity tells them - ha ha. Damn, I should have included her!

hahahahah - yeah, Oliver was probably watching an interminable Test Match and should have watched a one day international. I think he'd quite like football, but be frustrated at the lack of pace in cricket.

Thank you for reviewing. ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES